Dear {Everyone Nursing a Broken Spirit}…

This letter is for you.

It’s written with infinite love and genuine understanding because I want you to know how special you are. I mean really special.

I have been at near rock bottom. My spirit was broken, like yours may be right now as you’re reading this. I’ve seen people I love with broken spirits, feeling desperate and trying my best to help them. I’ve felt the depression. The anxiety. The panic attacks. I know what it’s like to sit still and feel lost in the helplessness. I’ve seen what pain does to beautiful people ~ emotionally and physically. I have lived through the heartbreak of watching someone I love self-harm. I’ve cried so many tears that I’m surprised I have any left. But I’m still HERE. And I understand my experiences, however painful they were. A decade ago, I stood at the edge of a dark hole, in front of someone eager to push me into it. Allowing that to happen would have been my rock bottom. I found the strength I needed to step back from that edge in utter defiance of that person who wanted to see me destroyed.

What I want you to remember is that you are, above all else, God’s child. He created you to be uniquely beautiful. And you are beautiful without the “enhancements” that society makes you believe you need to “measure up” to impossible standards. The companies that sell makeup and other such products don’t care about YOU as much as they care about dollar signs. Remember that. Anything extra that you do to make yourself look “different” or “better” than you naturally look is but a mask that you wear for the benefit of others.

You are more than the way you look. YOU were born with a purpose. YOU are alive for a reason. YOU must find what that reason is and put 1000% into it. Worry about YOU and those who mean the most to you. Those who tear you down are clueless about what their purpose is. They are cowards, afraid to focus on themselves because they loathe what they see when they look closely at that person they see in the mirror. Don’t give them your power. Focus on the power that God gives you and fulfill your purpose. Cherish the person you are in all aspects. Surround yourself with people who lift you up and support you. It’s the love, hope, determination, strength, positivity, and happiness that keep you going. It’s your purpose that keeps you going. And, believe me, you have a purpose whether or not you know it.

Please don’t buy into the lies that people tell you about yourself. Don’t allow them to define you or mold you into something you’re not. The people who expect you to live up to their expectations will abandon you the moment you stand up to them. I know it’s difficult to march to the beat of your own drum, but I promise you that you’ll be much happier if you do. {Trying to be something you aren’t} only leads to anxiety and resentment. And exhaustion.

When you understand that everything ~ big or small ~ that happens in your life is for an important reason, you’ll see things differently. There are lessons in every event, situation, circumstance, interaction with others who cross our path…everything. We eventually must learn to resist the urge to throw up our hands in defeat and, instead, question “why” something has happened. Tragedies, however heartbreaking, happen to teach us things and, also, to help us appreciate the joys when they happen.

How we react to everything has a ripple effect that potentially affects an unknown number of people over an unknown timespan. Just because we’re not aware of all the people we affect by our words/actions doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen. This is why we must strive to send positive ripples as often as possible.

Remember this post, dear one. Refer to it when you have doubts. It’s okay for your spirit to be carefully pieced back together; your strength is the glue that reinforces your spirit over time. The lessons you learn throughout your journey become the source of your wisdom and it’s what you do with that knowledge that shapes you, your journey forward, and your relationships. Once you understand that everyone is fighting their own battles, just as you are, you’ll see that you’re not alone in your battle…and that there are other fellow warrior heroes ~  with strengthened spirits cloaked in dented armor ~ fighting right along with you.

“The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.” ~ Mark Twain.

{Hugs}

Sincerely,

A Fellow Warrior ❤

Leave a Reply

