2016: Writeful Mind’s Year In Review

For a moment, I felt hesitant to do a “year in review” post because I couldn’t recall writing very many posts over the course of this year when, actually, I managed to crank out a fair amount of writing {despite the prolonged “dry spells” that left me feeling frustrated}.

Granddaughter image
She melts our hearts. ❤

Shortly after Writeful Mind marked its 1st Birthday, our granddaughter arrived…right on her due date. Her first month wasn’t easy for any of us; suffice to say we spent a lot of time at the hospital, due to readmission for jaundice and then a visit to the ER the following week for reflux. Things settled down eventually and I have to say that it’s been a joy to watch her grow daily. I love cuddling her as she drifts off to sleep; my friends were right about “Grandparent land” being awesome. She’s now almost 6 months old and celebrated her first Christmas. ❤

Watching my daughter adapt to her role as a mom has been rewarding for me. I can see a big difference in her attitude toward me and I think that relating to each other as “fellow moms” has been very beneficial to our relationship. I was with her during her entire labor/delivery/recovery process and some parts of her labor had me secretly crying in the bathroom away from her. Although my “little girl” was becoming a mom herself, I had a real problem with seeing her in such pain and a heightened state of anxiety {due to the epidural wearing off just before she was about to deliver}. All turned out well and when it was all over, she safely gave birth to a healthy, beautiful daughter who shared the same birth weight {7lb. 14oz.} as her maternal grandma and the same first name as her maternal great-great-grandma, Lily.

Our household went from 2 {my son and me} in 2012 to 3 in 2013 {when my daughter moved here from the U.K.} to 4 in March of this year {when Chris arrived from Pennsylvania} to 6 in July {when Lily and her father moved in}. It’s been quite an adjustment {not just living with more people but also having to absorb the belongings of 3 extra people; we’ve had to do a lot of shifting furniture and workspaces, which was exhausting!}, but it also means that we get to be a part of our granddaughter’s daily life and we’re immensely enjoying watching her grow and develop. Lily looks so much like her mother that I sometimes have “deja vu” moments when I’m interacting with her. My son is enjoying being an uncle to his first niece and he keeps busy with his full-time job and occasionally socializing with friends. He’s an introvert like me, though, so he finds plenty to do at home on his days off.

kiddos image
My kiddos. ❤

Chris’s health issues have calmed down since he first moved down here in March. He is managing dialysis a bit better now that he has a regular tech. The doctor appointments have decreased drastically and he’s doing well, apart from the fatigue that comes with having dialysis 3 times a week. Being in a warmer climate with increased exposure to sunlight helps.

Last year, at this time, things were changing and since then, I have settled into a great life with Chris; our kiddos {including the grandkiddo} bring us so much joy. I do still struggle with certain things {grief for my mom, mild depression due to external factors}, but I’m in a really good place now. I plan to continue my writing in 2017, explore new projects {business and photography-related}, meet up with friends over coffee more often, among other things.

Carol and Chris image
Out adventuring.

Chris and I have been together for a year now and it’s hard to believe a whole year has passed since we reconnected on Facebook. The constant activity has made this year feel like it flew by. It seems like only yesterday, we were welcoming 2016 and now a new year is upon us. We have a lot of great things to look forward to this year and, while I’m not really into making unrealistic resolutions, I do resolve to be the best person I can be and, also, take a day at a time. All I’ve heard {around this time every year} is people complaining about how bad their year was and wishing it was over because they think the next one will be better. Yes, we can see the new year as a “new slate”, but whether it turns out to be a better one ~ or worse! ~ is up to the individual. The truth is, none of us knows how much time we have left and we have to consider how we want to spend our time on this beautiful planet. We’re not here to judge others {not our job}. We’re not here to spread misery or worry about what everyone else is doing. We’re not here to live materialistically or be oblivious to the needs of others. We are here to learn and show compassion. We’re here to display tolerance and understanding. We’re here to learn the value of people over possessions. We’re here to learn patience and promote peace. We’re here to cultivate relationships with those we consider important. We’re here to make the most of every moment we have between birth and death. “Life expectancy” is merely a guide, but it’s not a guarantee.

I conclude this post by saying how much I appreciate your continued support and hope that you’ll continue to visit, read, comment, and share links to my posts. Finally, I wish you, the readers of Writeful Mind, a wonderful and peaceful 2017.

cropped-cropped-cropped-writefulmind2.jpg

Leave a Reply

