Our Granddaughter’s Here!

grandbaby image
Lily!

The 9th of July was a very special day for our family; right on time, our beautiful granddaughter arrived.

I’d never been through anyone’s labor/delivery, apart from my own, so being with my daughter through hers affected me in ways I never expected. I remember how much I valued my mother’s presence while I was in labor, but her role as a grandmother-to-be was slightly different from mine; my daughter, being a minor, needed an advocate for what she wanted in her birthing plan, which was far more detailed than when my babies were born. Back then, I think it was something handwritten and had to do with whether I wanted pain meds and/or an epidural {I believe what I wrote was, “YES, I DO want pain meds AND an epidural, please!!!!”} XD

When my daughter was born 17 years ago, she was delivered by a wonderful midwife {Mandi} who remains my friend to this day. Mandi stayed in the birthing room for the duration of my labor and we got to know each other well enough to discover that we had a lot in common. In recent years, she has done some wonderful work as an advocate for Delayed Cord Clamping {DCC} and earned two esteemed “MidWife of the Year” awards for her work. After explaining DCC to my daughter, she agreed that it was something to include in her birth plan. At the first prenatal appointment, we told the OB about DCC and she said that as long as we reminded her when the baby was delivered, she would oblige. As mentioned before, my daughter opted for DCC in her birth plan {called “waiting for the cord to stop pulsating before clamping”}. Finally, while the hospital staff prepared the birthing room, I reminded them of my daughter’s wishes for DCC and they said to wait until just before the baby was born…which I did. The OB heard me, acknowledged that she heard me and then asked the baby’s father if he wanted to cut the cord. He said yes.

The baby was born and cleaned a little before she was put on my daughter’s chest. The cord was cut before the father realized what had happened and the OB apologized for cutting it herself. No DCC, either. The OB’s reasoning was that my daughter was running a fever and they had to get the baby out quickly and cut the cord as soon as possible. When I discussed what happened with Mandi, she confirmed that {the fever} shouldn’t have made any difference, due to the extra white cells protecting the baby from infection. I’m convinced that the baby would have received more benefit from DCC than the “perceived” risk of infection. Further, how many more seconds would it have taken to have the father cut his baby’s cord? Sadly, none of us were to know that the OB would disregard what my daughter and the baby’s father wanted; it was a hard lesson to learn, but one that I would like to pass on to future parents. Do your research when looking for an OB; I would recommend finding one via word of mouth and read reviews posted by existing patients. Keep in mind that, even if an OB is highly recommended, it’s not a guarantee that s/he will be right for you. Look for an OB that really listens to his or her patients. Keep looking until you find someone you feel comfortable with. You can have the best, most detailed birth plan in the world, but it means absolutely nothing if the OB does not follow it. Remember ~ as parents, you and your OB {or midwife} are a partnership; you must trust ~ and be on the same page with ~ the person looking after you and your baby during your pregnancy, labor, and delivery. If you take anything away from this post, please learn from our experience.

Apart from the baby’s dad missing out on cutting the cord and the absence of DCC, we are still counting our blessings: The baby is healthy and she’s absolutely beautiful, as you can see by her picture. My daughter is settling into her new role as a mother very well. Chris and I are extremely excited to be in Grandparent Land and my son is a very proud Uncle. Our life with the new family addition has been interesting and wonderful so far and we look forward to watching this precious baby grow and evolve in the coming weeks, months, years. ❤

Leave a Reply

