Blogging Amid the Chaos

For weeks now, I’ve felt far too tired and/or occupied to write anything and my blogs have suffered as a result. As much as I’ve tried to not stress about it, I can’t help it sometimes. Not writing leaves me feeling like I’m forgetting something important…like part of me is missing.

Life’s like that ~ we get so busy with mundane chores, random shit that pops up unexpectedly, the chaos of those “WTF” moments, and the things we feel most passionate about get put in the background to do “when we get around to it.” It’s a challenge to put aside our spare-time activities without drifting too far…to a point where we find them more and more difficult to get back to. The last 2 months have been crazy. There hasn’t been a shortage of things to write about, only a shortage of time {and energy}. With the best of intentions, I would launch my blog post editor to write a long overdue post…until I’d feel myself doze off at my desk. This is not to say that my exhaustion-fueled posts wouldn’t be interesting to read, but they might not make much sense if my face was doing the typing.

Now that things have settled a bit, I’m able to pencil some much-needed “me time” into my calendar again {at my counselor’s insistence!}. The stress of the last couple of months has manifested itself in the form of panic attacks. I’m learning to watch my stress levels and alert those around me when I feel them rising. Talking things through really helps and I found a really helpful video to share with loved ones so they know what to do. I’m blessed with a support network that understands what’s happening and offers comfort when I need it.

In other news, my daughter is now at almost 35 weeks and it won’t be long before the baby arrives and throws our household into yet more chaos. My generous friends hosted a beautiful shower and brought so many lovely gifts. We will need to do some shopping in the next month to make sure we have everything we need. I’m trying to not focus so much on the sleepless nights and dirty diapers, but when it comes down to it, I can’t wait to meet our precious granddaughter. My son is working hard, receiving recognition for a job well done. He’s looking forward to being an Uncle for the first time and spoiling his niece, no doubt! Chris has connected with doctors who are doing a better job of managing his health issues. He’s been enjoying the food {poboys, snowballs, crawfish, andouille, etc., in moderation, of course} and warmth, as well as the familiarity of being home. Now that he’s feeling better, we’ll be doing day trips to explore places we’ve never been to. Chris is eager to get back into his photography for a multitude of projects, including a blog and a book collaboration with yours truly.

Speaking of projects, there’s so much I want to do ~ my style blog, write/publish my memoirs, finish/publish the book for Café Sanctuary, get into bullet journaling, legacy journaling, etc., etc., etc.! I long for a dedicated office space that’s organized for all the things I wanna do. Anything that involves a trip to an office/stationery supply store? Yes, please!

With any luck, my {mandatory} me-time will get me writing regularly again. The blogosphere seems quiet lately. Are my fellow bloggers still blogging? If not, what’s been keeping you from posting regularly? Tell me!

Until next time…

15 thoughts on “Blogging Amid the Chaos

      • Thank you for asking Carol I write a post about twice a week and try to watch out for not pressing myself too hard like. You I have also suffered from abusive people. It helps me to have breaks in between activities and especially try to avoid long hours in social events.
        I don’t share so often at the cafe blog

        Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t mind the breaks from writing, as long as they don’t last too long. When I don’t write, I feel like part of me is missing and then the irritable me comes out, which isn’t pretty! I think I might have more time to write at least until the baby arrives. Then we’ll see. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I am happy to hear that I am not the only one that hasn’t been keeping up with my blog very well. But happy for you that life is seemingly going good…excited for baby (living vicariously through others!), and looking forward to reading more of your life adventures, friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Sandy! I think we’ve all been fairly quiet lately. I think the beauty of our group in this wonderful blogosphere is that we stick together even when nobody has time to post. I’m wondering if I’ll have time to write once the baby’s here…maybe I’ll only have time to post pictures of her. lol

      Liked by 1 person

    • It’s good to see you again, dawlin. Perhaps our group is always going to be active in bursts. In any case, it’s always great to hear from everyone when they do post. {hugs back!}

      Like

  2. YESSSSSSSSSSS!!!! She’s back! Awesome post, and we all can totally relate I’m sure. Coming off my own little funk, I just know that one day there was a fog in my head of varying things, and then one day it was gone, and I was ready to start writing again. I hope you can charge full force into everything you laid out soon. Welcome back friend, its good to see you again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know you’ve always told me to NOT stress out about not writing. Easier said than done, but I know you’re right. I just need to figure out how to conjure up the energy to do everything I want to do. Is there a magic spell that restores the energy of a 20-something? Hmmm… lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • There is. Its called coffee lol. Well for me it might involve coffee and ‘other’ beverages but coffee should do it! In all seriousness what did it for me was starting to run again and on the first day I started to really feel good about doing it again instead of cursing about how horrible it was, everything clicked and I wrote a post about…not being able to post. But that has carried me through and the ideas are flowing again. Sounds like they are with you again too. Keep going!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for dropping by and offering a comment. Are you new to the blogosphere? If so, please let me know if you need help with anything! 🙂

      Like

  3. Life has been too hectic and my schedule hasn’t been strict enough or my energy level hasn’t been high enough. Between illnesses in my family and of my own just not in the groove. Stuff happens.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

