A Life Less Solitary

Sunset image
View approaching Atlanta

Last week saw the beginning of a new adventure that took me 1100 miles away from home.

It was a bit of an unexpected trip, but also a necessary one. The break from “the norm” did me a world of good and I so needed the change of scenery to recharge my batteries. We all crave some time away from our regular lives if only to miss home a bit so that we can appreciate the things we take for granted. It was my first vacation in 23 years and I was more than ready for the journey.

The plan was for me to fly up to Pennsylvania so that I could drive back home {to Louisiana} with my sweetie. We both looked forward to some alone time on the road trip; we hadn’t seen each other in person in over 35 years so it was a great way to start our life together. We both grew up in the same area of New Orleans; there was a lot of sentiment attached to this trip since it would be his first trip home in many years.

The first part of my trip was all about my need for solitude; I didn’t mind flying alone because it gave me time to reflect, anticipate, and do the self-care thing. Having a window seat enhanced my flying experience, since I was able to shut out the external noise with my favorite songs while I got lost in the scenery. It felt refreshing to be out of the rat race for a little while, floating above the serenity of the clouds, oblivious to everything happening on the ground. Escapism. True solitude.

As we approached Atlanta, I was able to watch the sunset from my little window on the plane; the sun looked so teensy as it dipped below the horizon but, as always, the show was a spectacular one. In retrospect, I realize that sunset was a very symbolic one. My arrival in Pennsylvania was the official start of a new life with the man I’d fallen in love with at 16; the sunset captured just before the plane touched down in Atlanta was the last sunset I’d ever watch alone. Although I knew I would still have my moments of solitude when I need it, my “solitary” life was now over.

Finally.  ❤

 

22 thoughts on “A Life Less Solitary

    1. We sure did! The road trip was pretty uneventful {as far as weird experiences go}, but it was great to talk, sing and see states I’d never visited before. We want to do another road trip down Route 66 in a few years. 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by! Happy Easter! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aw! It means a lot that you’re enjoying our story. We still can’t believe that we’ve been given a second chance after 35 years.

        There will definitely be more details about our adventure in future posts. Watch this space!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The follow button appears in the bottom right corner. I think it was giving many others trouble, too. I do hope you can follow me. It’s really nice meeting you. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Yaz! I appreciate you dropping by and I hope you’ll continue to visit. I have followed your blog and look forward to reading more from you in the coming weeks. Happy Easter! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We’re still recovering from the road trip at the moment. I had a bit of jetlag on top of losing an hour for Daylight Savings Time. The road trip was pretty exhausting ~ 14 hours the first day! Whew!

        I do hope your back feels better. I had some bad back pain back in January and I was miserable. Now, I’m starting to notice some aches and pains when it’s damp so it looks like the beginnings of arthritis. :/

        Take care, my dear! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hey Carol, I just found your Follow notification in my recalcitrant inbox from ages ago! Sooooo sorry for the tardy thank you 😦 What an awesome photo and an even more awesome story! I see you’re in photo 101 too, so look forward to seeing more of you there. Happy togethernessing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem, my dear! Thank you for dropping by and for your kind words.

      I’m always glad to hear from my fellow classmates and look forward to reading you and knowing you better. {hugs}

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

