Memories of the Pontchartrain

Lake Pontchartrain image
North Shore of Lake Pontchartrain; taken at the Lakefront in Mandeville, Louisiana

Good ol’ Lake Pontchartrain.

I grew up in the area of New Orleans that was situated directly South of the Lake. Then, South of us was the Mississippi River. The photo theme for Day 3 is water ~ trust me, New Orleans is all about water…in the form of a huge lake to the North, the river to the South. And have I mentioned the humidity or rain?

One of the best things to do was to spend a day at Pontchartrain Beach, our beloved {closed since 1983 *sniff*} amusement park. Everyone had their favorite ride and if we were lucky enough to get a P{ay}.O{ne}.P{rice}. ticket {$15}, we could go there and enjoy unlimited rides all day long. The SkyRide took us up for a slow ride from one end of the park to the other, giving us a great view of the Lake {when we weren’t worried about our thongs/flip-flops falling off!} and the Zephyr was our favorite roller coaster of all. Or was it the Galaxy? We even had a really scary ride called the Wild Maus that made its riders believe they were going to go over the edge when it turned corners. Did I go on that thing? No, because I am a self-admitted wuss. My other favorite was the Music Express that played all the BEST Classic rock as it spun around really fast {so fast, in fact, that the unlucky person who was sitting in the outermost position of the bench seat got smooshed by whomever was in the middle or innermost side}. The Log Flume was awesome; we repeatedly rode it because getting drenched kept us cool in the summer heat.  I don’t even have to name all the rides here because anyone who went to Pontchartrain Beach can recall their favorite ride instantly when asked.

I remember days spent crabbing in the Lake ~ always fun to lift the baskets to see if the chicken wings attracted anything. Later in high school, I’d come to appreciate the Lakefront {on the South Shore} as a great place to watch the “Submarine Races” at night. There were also great seafood restaurants on West End Boulevard {all wiped out by Katrina} and the University of New Orleans that was near enough to the Lakefront to chill or eat lunch or study before/between/after classes.

I now live North of the Lake, which seemed “so far away” as a child, but it was really only a half-hour drive. The Lakefront on this side of the Lake is really nice and serene. I don’t get there often, but the last time I did, I caught the sunset. Beautiful. Perhaps we’ll take another ride out there soon and maybe if we’re lucky, we’ll catch a Submarine Race or two. 😉 ❤

21 thoughts on “Memories of the Pontchartrain

  1. nice shot! i am from Louisiana also. Lafayette. i understand the water and the seafood…we are so lucky! i am trying to figure out how to share my post of ‘water’…i captured shrimp boats on the Delcambre canal a couple weeks back.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for dropping by and leaving a kind comment. I have followed your blog and look forward to seeing your future posts. I hope you continue to visit, too.

      Hope you’re enjoying the course as much as I am! 😀

      Like

      1. I can relate! I’m much better with writing than I am taking pictures, but I’m enjoying the challenge.

        I think I’m going to be further behind when I get busier next week. Hopefully I won’t have too much trouble catching up.

        If you’re interested in joining our fb blogging group, let me know. 🙂

        Like

    1. I’m so sorry about the mozzies biting you, Steve. I hope you won’t let them stop you from visiting in future. We’ll have to get you a can of “Off” to help out.

      I have many projects on the horizon. Watch this space! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

