Vignettes of Love: Then {1980} & Now {2016}

Great Love Quote image

Everyone considers their love story to be the best. And they’re right. ❤

There are no set rules when it comes to love. There’s no set amount of time in which love is “supposed” to take hold. We don’t have to be a certain age to build a foundation for something lasting, nor do we need to be ready for a lasting relationship. Regardless of the time that’s passed or distance between 2 people, whatever’s meant to be will be.

{1980}

Our story began when we were just 16 and our lives, barely starting. We first sensed a deep connection between us in the space of a few minutes when he showed me his vulnerable side and, in response, I showed him my nurturing side. As soon as he knew he was hurt, he turned to me and, as soon as I knew he was hurt, I took care of him. We were exactly who we needed to be in those moments because he needed to see that he wasn’t alone when he needed someone and I needed to see his trust in me and feel needed. Through an unspoken language that neither of us was aware of at the time, we offered each other what we instinctively knew each other was lacking in our lives. It didn’t have to last long, just long enough for us to plant memories that would stick with us over the years. For 2 weeks, we were inseparable; the more time we spent together, the closer we felt to each other. Our emotions ruled us, and very deeply so. We weren’t ready for any of it; how could our young minds make sense of that level of intimacy reached so quickly? We didn’t understand what was happening since neither of us had ever felt that way before. As quickly as it began, it ended for reasons my 16-year-old couldn’t understand. I moved on, but his name and memory would remain etched in my mind…until…

{2016}

I’m happy to say that our story continues, 35 years later. When we reconnected, we talked way more than we ever did at 16 because we did what most 16-year-olds did ~ we made out. During the course of our “catch-up” conversation, he helped me to understand what really happened from his perspective. We talked about the fact that our romance never ended on a sour note and, therefore, ended because we were far too young to handle a more serious relationship. The thing he remembered most about me was that I treated him with love, kindness, and respect. The emotions are still there and, in getting to know each other again, we have found out just how much we have in common. Everything that had to happen {for us to pick up where we left off}, happened.

What I’ve come to realize, since we reconnected, is that just because our romance ended all those years ago, it didn’t mean that it ended forever. Fate has been a big factor for us, but we also appreciate that second chances don’t always happen. We have both been through some similarly rough times in our relationships/dating experiences, which has only helped us to appreciate each other more. There’s nothing stopping us this time. Our history means something to us. We grew up in the same neighborhood and have many mutual friends. We attended {brother/sister} Catholic schools not far from each other. That we’re the same age {3 months apart} is a great thing because I can talk to him about anything that happened when we were growing up and 98% of the time, he knows exactly what I mean. If ever there were two people who are perfect for each other, it’s us. ❤

In closing, I leave you with the following lyrics which beautifully encapsulate the essence of our lifelong connection…and a final thought.

“And so today, my world it smiles,
your hand in mine, we walk the miles,

Thanks to you it will be done,
for you to me are the only one.
Happiness, no more be sad, happiness….I’m glad.
If the sun refused to shine, I would still be loving you.
When mountains crumble to the sea,
there will still be you and me.”
~ Thank You, Led Zeppelin II

Since reconnecting, we have talked about “what-ifs”. What if we’d stayed together? What if we’d gotten married and had children? What if we’d had a happy life together? Although those things are interesting and fun to think about, we don’t allow ourselves to dwell on the “what-ifs” because life is too short for regrets. We can’t change what happened; all we can do is move forward from where we are, accepting that we have always been a part of each other’s destiny, as fate has proven twice. As much as hindsight tells us that staying together would have been the best option, we know deep down that we needed time to grow, experience life, learn important lessons, and mature…until we were finally ready for “us”.

14 thoughts on “Vignettes of Love: Then {1980} & Now {2016}

    • Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to leave a kind comment. I’m so glad my feelings for Chris come across in this post. To share our story the rest of world is a blessing for us. Thank you for your kind words. I do hope you’ll continue to visit. 🙂 {hugs}

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! Reconnecting with him has changed my life and he reappeared at a time when I was very low. He’s my hero. Yep, I’m unapologetically corny! lol 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. So strange how life works sometimes. I can’t say I’ve run into anything quite like this, heck, especially because I’ve never been in a real relationship with anyone. But I am a lover of love. It’s beautiful and so it this post! Great job Carol! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

