73 Burning Questions Asked By Vogue

Earlier this week, my blogger-turned-friend, Trudy, challenged our blogging group members to do the Vogue 73 Questions challenge when she shared the link to her 73 Questions Post. I thought it would be a fun post to do because…well, who wouldn’t want to be “interviewed” by Vogue? Granted, I’m not a celebrity or anything, but I thought I’d “bare my soul” in an “inteviewy” sort of way. If you decide to do this challenge, three things: 1/ Please link back to me. 2/ To make things easier, you can get a list of the 73 questions here. 3/ Be sure to visit Trudy’s blog when you’re done, so you can read more of her posts. Without further ado…


1. What’s your favorite movie?

2. Favorite movie in the past five years?

3. Favorite Hitchcock film?

Psycho {the only one I’ve seen}

4. A book you plan on reading?

The Impersonal Life by Joseph Brenner

5. A book that you read in school that positively shaped you?

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

6. Favorite TV show that’s currently on?

Switched At Birth or Dr. Who

7. On a scale of one to ten how excited are you about life right now?

100 ~ Life is awesome!

8. iPhone or Android?

iPhone

9. Twitter or Instagram?

Instagram

10. Who should EVERYONE be following right now?

ChrisLeoRobDanielle and me!

11. What’s your favorite food?

I can’t choose one…I like burgers, Italian, Indian, seafood…but sometimes I just want a good Caesar’s salad.

12. Least favorite food?

Brussel sprouts, coconut

13. What do you love on your pizza?

I’m good with sausage, chicken, mushrooms, onions, tuna, corn, beef {tuna and sweetcorn pizzas are popular in the UK}.

14. Favorite drink?

Tea, coffee, water {not necessarily in that order, depending on my mood}

15. Favorite dessert?

Red velvet cake or cheesecake or apple pie/custard or ice cream. I’m not picky! 

16. Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

Dark. I find milk or white chocolate too sickly sweet.

17. Coffee or tea?

Impossible to choose, so both!

18. What’s the hardest part about being a mum? 

Got a year? Seriously:

  1. The constant worrying
  2. That every age brings its own unique problems
  3. Letting go when it’s time to give them more independence
  4. Seeing them suffer
  5. Misunderstood and unappreciated until they’re adults
  6. Surviving “The Teenage Years”
  7. Accepting that they won’t take the shortcuts you tell them about.

19. What’s your favorite band?

20. Favorite solo artist?

21. Favorite song?

22. If you could sing a duet with anyone, who would it be?

Paul McCartney

23. If you could master one instrument, what would it be?

Either the guitar or drums.

24. If you had a tattoo, where would it be?

Just behind my right shoulder.

25. To be or not to be?

To be.

26. Dogs or cats?

Cats.

27. Bird-watching or whale-watching?

Bird-watching.

28. Best gift you’ve ever received?

Love, support, friendship from those I consider my family.

29. Best gift you’ve ever given?

I gave everything in my house {including my laptop} to the woman who moved in to my former home when I came back to the U.S. She was fleeing abuse and she had nothing.

30. Last gift you gave a friend?

A cookbook.

31. What’s your favorite board game?

Scrabble

32. What’s your favorite country to visit?

Scotland

33. What’s the last country you visited?

England

34. What country do you wish to visit?

Holland, Switzerland or Finland

35. What’s your favorite color?

Blue {most shades}

36. Least favorite color?

Orange or pea green

37. Diamonds or pearls?

Pearls {My daughter’s birthstone.}

38. Heels or flats?

Flats.

39. Pilates or yoga?

Neither. Regular floor toning for me.

40. Jogging or swimming?

Neither. Walking or step aerobics.

41. Best way to de-stress?

Writing at my favorite café or meditation.

42. If you had one superpower, what would it be?

Time travel or absorbing all the benefits of exercise just by watching someone workout.

43. What’s the weirdest word in the English language?

Weirdest. Other than that I’m not sure, but if you’re interested, try this list of weird words.

44. What’s your favorite flower?

Lily {My grandmother’s name was Lillian.}

45. When was the last time you cried?

Today, because of this commercial. {Seriously…bring tissues!}

46. Do you like your handwriting?

It’s pretty when I’m not rushing. 

handwriting image

My writing on a good day…

 

 

 

 

47. Do you bake?

I enjoy baking way more than cooking. My specialty at the moment is my apple cinnamon or banana bread.

apple cinnamon loaf image

Apple Cinnamon Bread

48. What is your least favorite thing about yourself?

I worry way too much.

49. What is your most favorite thing about yourself?

I always strive to be the best version of myself, thanks to the way my mom raised me.

50. Who do you miss most?

My mom, who passed away nearly 2 years ago.

51. What are you listening to right now?

52. Favorite smell?

My sweetie’s cologne.

53. Who was the last person you talked to on the phone?

My sweetie.

54. Who was the last person you sent a text to?

My bonus child {daughter’s best friend}.

55. A sport you wish you could play?

I think it would be kinda cool to catch a football and score a touchdown, but I can’t run {due to asthma}, I probably can’t catch while running, and I really don’t want to be tackled!

56. Hair color?

Naturally dark brown, but my blond highlights from December 2014 are still visible.

57. Eye color?

Brown.

58. Scary film or happy endings?

I will not watch horror films. I am a chick flick girl and I am currently experiencing my own happy ending. ❤

59. Favorite season?

Autumn. I like that it’s a welcome break from the unbearable heat, love the colors, and I love the “cleansing” aspect of it.

60. Three people alive or dead that you would like to have dinner with?

My mother and her parents {all deceased} and, if I had to choose people outside of my family, I would pick Diana, Princess of Wales, Johnny Depp, and Bradley Delp of Boston.

61. Hugs or kisses?

Both!

62. Rolling Stones or the Beatles?

63. Where were you born?

New Orleans, Louisiana

64. What is the farthest you have been from home?

I spent 16 years in England.

65. Sweet or savory?

Depends on my mood, but I do have a weakness for sweets.

66. Lipstick or lip gloss?

Neither. Yuck!

67. What book have you read again and again?

Anything by James Patterson or Lee Child. Alex Cross and Jack Reacher are 2 of my favorite characters ever.

68. Favorite bedtime story?

Anything that doesn’t give me nightmares. 

69. What would be the title of your autobiography?

The Musings of a Warrior Woman

70. Favorite sound?

Laughter, my favorite music or silence.

71. Favorite animal?

I think pandas are cute.

72. Who is your girl crush?

Scarlett Johansson or Nancy Wilson of Heart

73. Last photograph you took?

The rose my sweetie sent me for Valentine’s Day. ❤

Long stemmed rose image

1st ever meaningful Valentine’s Day gift

5 thoughts on “73 Burning Questions Asked By Vogue

  1. This was great! Learned so much about you! Thank you for the shout out as well. Very much appreciated. I like bird watching too, but you should get to Cape Cod some day and take one of the boats out. It is such a fantastic thing to see. So much of what you answered really explains ‘Carol’ to me. Nice job 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you, my friend! I have a friend in Cape Cod, so I will most likely go there at some point when we mosey on up North next year.

    You’re welcome for the shout out. I’m assuming they meant “follow on Instagram”, since they didn’t specify. I pointed to the 4 of you because your photography is amazing and I really believe that y’all should all have coffee table books! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

