The Red Thread {Of Fate} Untangled

“An invisible red thread connects those who are destined to meet, regardless of the time, the place or the circumstance.
The thread may stretch or tangle, but it will never break.”
                                                                 ~ Ancient Chinese Proverb

Although the idea of there being an {invisible red thread} gives us all a bit of hope that our soul mate is out there, allow me to give you a bit of a heads up. For some of us, the search involves a twisted journey that may or may not give us a prolonged glimpse of hell, followed by some very questionable “dating” experiences.

For me, the search for {the person} at the end of my {invisible red thread} was never straight forward. If only it were as easy as giving the thread a tug and seeing who showed up in response; unfortunately, we have to first be aware believe the {red thread} even exists! I’m a firm believer in fate, destiny, everything happening for a reason, etc. and, as I’ve grown older, I have become more convinced that nothing in our lives is ever random. Anyone who understands numerology knows that the role of numbers in our universe is displayed in precise patterns found all throughout the natural world. The numbers representing our birth dates are more than just a means to measure our time on this Earth.  For example, the number 16 is incredibly lucky for me for several reasons:

  • My birthdate, in December.
  • My maternal grandfather’s and my daughter’s shared birthdate in June, 127 years apart.
  • In December 1980, when I turned 16 on 16th, I fell in love with a boy {also 16} I met through an elementary school friend.
  • The friend who introduced me to {that boy} was also born on December 16th.
  • On the day of my 51st birthday, 16 December 2015, {that boy} and I reconnected after 35 years. We reconnected because of the friend who’d originally introduced us, due to it being our shared birthday.
  • By New Year’s Day 2016, I knew he was {the person} at the end of my {red thread}.

Belief is in fate an individual thing, based on experiences and observation. One can go through life, completely unconvinced unless/until certain occurrences happen and patterns emerge. Even so, unless one is open to the belief that things happen for a reason, such events are most likely put down to sheer coincidence or even dismissed.

“Fate” is often romanticized, particularly in books and movies. After all, who doesn’t love a good love story? We sigh when we think of two people, in the “right place, at the right time”, making that enviable connection and living “happily ever after”.  Hey, I’m a girl. Things like that make me swoon and unapologetically so. I’m a hopeless romantic and I now have the relationship I’ve always dreamed of…and a wonderful love story to go with it.

Our story is romantic, but it also reflects just how strong the {red thread} really is. We met when we were 16, completely by chance. My mother and I didn’t have to go to that library. We lived in New Orleans and had many libraries to choose from. It wasn’t even close to where we lived, just close to where we happened to be when we decided to “drop in”. We went in and I immediately saw my elementary school friend. Again, he and I hadn’t seen each other in 4 years because we attended different high schools. We talked. I noticed his friend sitting at a table nearby and, after a bit of flirting, I found myself inviting both of them to my birthday party and, on the night of my party, his friend and I just “clicked”. For the next couple of weeks, we were inseparable but, when it came down to it, neither of us were really ready for a relationship back then. We drifted, despite our feelings. Thirty-five years later, we reconnected as a result of his birthday post the Facebook timeline of the elementary school friend who’d first introduced us all those years ago. I almost didn’t post birthday wishes to my Birthday Twin’s timeline since we’d already wished each other a “Happy Birthday” on my timeline. On a whim, I did it anyway and that’s when I saw that familiar name. It couldn’t have happened at a better time.

In the weeks leading up to my birthday, I was suffering from depression and anxiety, for a multitude of reasons. I felt tired of constantly feeling sucked into the dark hole due to external circumstances, no matter how positive I tried to be. Two days before my birthday, I felt so overwhelmed by all of what was going on in my life that I sat in my car in the middle of Wal-Mart parking lot, crying my eyes out and praying for something to change. I could only put everything in God’s hands and be open to whatever He had in mind for me.

Two days later, God helped to untangle the {red thread}, creating a much-needed direct line between two souls who’d been searching for each other for a very long time.

7 thoughts on “The Red Thread {Of Fate} Untangled

  1. I remember first hearing about the legend of the red thread. It’s really beautiful and inspiring. I’m still touched by your story Carol (as a lover of love.) ❤ Now, you have each other so let what will be, be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Carlos! It means a lot that you take the time to visit, read and leave kind comments. I will definitely look at your posts tomorrow, when I have more time. Glad you’re a part of the Café! {hugs}

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: And Now For Some Thing{s} Completely Blissful | Writeful Mind

Leave a Reply

