Fashionista Blog For Fabulously Over 50’s

This week’s Feel-Good Friday post is about taking steps to feel comfortable in what we wear. The right clothing gives us confidence when we’re wearing something comfortable and a style we like. If you’re anything like me, you’ll know that it’s not always easy to find clothes that offer style, comfort, and versatility. For a while now, I’ve struggled and I know, from talking with my dear friends, that it’s a struggle shared by many. With that in mind, I just wanted to tell you, my fellow beauties, about my latest blog ~ Fabulously Over 50.

Why did I create a fashion blog? Because of all the age groups, I feel as though the 40-60 age range is often overlooked in the fashion world {maybe not, but that’s what it feels like!}. I don’t know about you, but when I go shopping, I can’t find anything suitable for a woman “my age”. Times have changed! What do we do when we want affordable fashion and only have a limited choice in most stores? We 50-somethings want fashion that makes us look stylish without ill-fitting clothing that doesn’t suit us for whatever reason. We want clothes that hug us in a flattering way. Not tight! We want clothes that enhance our femininity without revealing too much. Not skimpy! We want clothes that are age-appropriate when it comes to elegance…you know, simple. Not insane patterns or inappropriate motifs! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen a shirt that looks promising and I’ve pulled it out to find that it’s got a pop culture reference or some other such inappropriateness splattered all over the front of it.

Most importantly, we want comfortable clothes that are a joy to wear because…well, we remember squeezing into tight jeans in our teens and being miserable as a result. And hobbling around in shoes designed by someone with an intense loathing for women’s feet and posture. Funny how age has a way of making us realize that we don’t have to do that. If an article of clothing doesn’t love whatever part of my body it covers, I’m not wearing it. I’m certainly not a high maintenance person, but I’ve come to realize that being a fashionista isn’t about being high maintenance anyway. It’s just a matter of finding a unique, easy-to-maintain style that reflects our personalities, working with what’s “available” in stores throughout the year.

But enough complaining. I have a wide network of fellow Fab Over 50 beauties and I’m hoping that this blog will become a group effort when it comes to finding fashion for real women with curves. I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t really bought much of anything in the past several years and I’m tired of wearing the same old stuff. I’m willing to do the research for everyone and report my findings! I will be showing off clothes, shoes, jewelry, accessories and reviewing products especially for the Fabulously Over 50’s. I am really looking forward to contributing to this blog because I think it will feature heavily into my self-care, but it’ll also be a chance for all of us to pool our ideas, recommendations, and resources. If you like the idea of this blog, I do hope you’ll subscribe and pass the word on to your friends. Let’s find great style and look classy together! To subscribe/follow/read ~ go visit Fabulously Over 50! 

Writeful Mind Feel-Good Friday Logo

Click Me for FGF Info!

Happy Feel-Good Friday!

7 thoughts on “Fashionista Blog For Fabulously Over 50’s

  1. I was reading an article from .. I believe it was Vogue that highlighted blogs of women over forty. Some of them were so stylish I started following on Instagram so you are not alone. There’s a huge difference between style and fashion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope that my blog helps others find a style they feel comfortable with. I’m really excited about this new venture and think it could be a lot of fun. I have come to realize that it’s more important to dress for myself, rather than to impress others. It’s far better to find others who identify with us than those who judge or criticize us for being “different”.

      Thanks for stopping by! I always enjoy hearing from you! {hugs}

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Ohh…. Just another reason why you and Catherine are thick as thieves! 🙂 Congrats on starting up another blog! I do wish you the best Carol. I’ll give it a look over. Who knows? Maybe I’ll enjoy reading about fashion…? If nothing else, you have my support! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

