And the Room 101 Award Goes To…

Room 101 Award image

New one on me, but appreciated nonetheless!

The Blogosphere is blessed with wonderful bloggers who take the time out to make their fellow bloggers feel special and appreciated. One of the nicest ways to do this is to nominate those whose blogs we enjoy reading. With that in mind, I feel honored to accept the Room 101 Award from my fellow blogger and friend, Carlos, creator and author of Thoughts Of a Trainwrecked Pineapple. Thank you for thinking of me, Carlos!

I hadn’t heard of the Room 101 Award until I received the nomination. The rules are pretty simple and I’m looking forward to listing what I would banish to “The Room”. Just hope I can narrow it down to five!


Rules

  1. Thank the blogger that nominated you.
  2. Award 5 bloggers who fascinate, intrigue or tickle your curiosity with the Room 101 (award) badge logo on their About pages and linking to them in your post.
  3. Tell us the 5 things you would banish to Room 101!
  4. Attach these rules to your post.
  5. Grab your badge above and enjoy adding it to your trophy case, but please be respectful of the creator of the award by never altering the logo and never changing the rules.

What I Would Banish To Room 101

  1. Abusive relationships ~ If it were up to me, nobody would ever have to experience any kind of abuse ever again. Unrealistic, maybe…but I can dream, right?
  2. Unrealistic, impossible standards for women ~ Media, the fashion industry, “Photoshopping”, societal attitudes about size, etc. all capitalize on their ability to make us feel like we’re unworthy if we don’t measure up to certain “ideals” defined by a collective, yet invisible “phantom” entity called “them”.

    “If tomorrow, women woke up and decided they really liked their bodies, just think how many industries would go out of business.”- Dr. Gail Dines

  3. Unnecessary changes ~ Common Core Math. Banning anything that is part of history because it suddenly “offends” people. Doing away with cursive writing. Age-old traditions because people have become too “lazy”. The “Everyone Gets a Trophy For Showing Up” mentality.
  4. Rushed drivers ~ These people are scary because they care more about the few seconds they shave off their journey than they do about road safety. Seriously people, is arriving somewhere a few seconds earlier worth putting others in danger?
  5. Extreme heat and all the crap that goes with it ~ Bugs, sweat, bugs, high electricity bills {due to having to run the A/C just to feel comfy}, bugs, bad {frizzy} hair days because of the humidity, bugs, lethargy…btw, have I mentioned bugs?

My Lovely Nominees:

Before I list my nominees, I would just like to say that I’m nominating you because I think your blogs are awesome and I think you could add something uniquely special to your acceptance post, based on your niche and/or writing voice. Whether or not you choose to participate is solely up to you and my feelings will not be hurt, should you decline to do so. ❤

  1. Catherine ~ Atypical 60 {I’m nominating you not only because you’re my {adopted} fashionistah sistah and I ❤ You, but also because I think your acceptance post is something of which we cannot deprive the Blogosphere! So although I’m not applying pressure on you, I do hope you’ll oblige us!}
  2. JohnJourneys With JohnBo
  3. Lydia ~ Life From My Point of View
  4. Tasha ~ Hit Below the Belt…Hard
  5. Yvonne ~ A Lady and Gaming +

And here endeth my post, but not before I invite my dear readers to visit the blogs my nominator and nominees. I would also like to take the opportunity to thank my readers {for following, reading and reaching out to me through comments} and fellow bloggers for your continued support and encouragement. ❤

 

9 thoughts on “And the Room 101 Award Goes To…

  1. Awww, thank you so much Carol! This is my first time hearing about this particular award as well! I’m very honored! I must say, according to your top pics we seem to have some things in common. Matter of fact, I don’t even have to make a separate blog post, you’ve pretty much covered it. LOL I detest common core as well, but since I home school I get to choose my kids curriculum. I don’t think common core will last, some states have been smart enough to opt out of it. But thank you, once again, for the nomination! *waves at the crowd* 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great post! And a pretty cool award! And so many great things you listed to banish to Room 101. I don’t even have kids of my own (just nieces and nephews and friend’s children to think about) but I don’t like Common Core and all the rest of the changes in school. As always I enjoy your posts Carol!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Sandy! I’m pleased you’re a regular visitor to my blog. 🙂

      I’ll never understand why Common Core even made it into the curriculum. Did we REALLY need even simple Math functions to be more complicated? lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much, Carol, for nominating me! Love getting awards, and the feeling of appreciation that goes with it. 🌷 A new kind of award for me too, amazing how creative we all are here in the blogosphere, right?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

