David Bowie: Now Heaven’s a Cooler Place

My older siblings introduced me to a world of great music, but it was my brother who, by sharing his album collection with me, introduced me to one of my favorite albums to this day ~ ChangesOneBowie by David Bowie. It was rare that I liked nearly every song on any album I had, but this one came awfully close. I nearly wore it out, stacking it with my Boston, Styx, ELO and Chicago albums for hours of non-stop music. Oh, the joys of “primitive” playlists! “Space Oddity” was like no song I’d heard before, but I loved it. “Changes” and “Ziggy Stardust” were heavily featured in my “hairbrush concerts”.

As I got older and experienced the age of M-TV, David Bowie’s music stayed with me. What made it even better was that I could see him, as well as listen to his wonderful music. I loved watching him evolve and adapt as music trends changed. He wasn’t afraid to be different and that’s what made him so fucking cool. Even past the age of M-TV, his music stayed with us ~ “Ziggy Stardust” was one of the songs featured on a Guitar Hero game we played and we loved that one. I felt so proud that my kids loved it, too; they listened to his other songs ~ “Under Pressure” included.

I was deeply saddened to learn of his passing, but as the stories emerged about his final album, I realize that Mr. Bowie was more than prepared for the next phase of his life. He made his last contribution to the world of music as a gift to his fans and, in doing so, he was letting us know that he’d made his peace with the impending transition. His music will continue to live on and bring back great memories for us all. During our time on this Earth, we strive to make our presence known and remembered. Mr. Bowie most certainly did that in the best possible way.

R.I.P. David Bowie. We’ll continue to “put on our red shoes and dance the blues” in your honor. ❤

12 thoughts on “David Bowie: Now Heaven’s a Cooler Place

    1. Thank you, Stephen! I giggled at the thought of you doing a double-take. I don’t swear a lot in my blog posts but you’re right about it being appropriate in this case. Plus, I’ve been told on more than one occasion that guys like it when women say the occasional f-bomb. lol

      Thanks for your kind words! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheyanne,

      I know. It’s been such a sad week for music and acting. My heart is heavier today.

      In any event, thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a comment. ❤

      Like

  1. I was on my way to class when I heard about David Bowie’s death. I was born in 1966 and graduated high school in 1984. (I am re-starting a new career in Culinary School.) I was stunned at the news. I was sad and when I got to school, I was the only one who knew David Bowie’s name. Until I mentioned Legend…not a real confidence booster, but I digress. Mr. Bowie was an icon in modern music and will be greatly missed by this potential chef. Great post! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Dee,

      Thank you so much for dropping by and leaving a comment. To receive such kind words about my post from such a huge fan of Mr. Bowie means a lot to me ~ indicative that my tribute to him did him justice.

      I wish you the very best of luck in your new career and I just know it’ll take you far! {Hugs}

      Liked by 1 person

  2. He certainly was cool! Always loved him but since he died I’m obsessed with watching all his interviews, etc. He was so interesting and so nice. And so good looking too. Fabulous, brilliant man. Such a loss.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

