Liebster Award: My 11 of Everything

Liebster Award Image

Honored!

Once again, I am humbled by a fellow blogger/friend of mine, kind enough to give Writeful Mind its second Liebster nomination. Paardje is the proud owner of Of SnailMail, Books & Vanities, a blog that reflects Paardje’s light-hearted approach to life as she writes more about her expat life in beautiful Indonesia. Her posts are insightful and they include a gallery of beautiful pictures to behold. What more could you want in a blog? Please mosey on over there and have a look around. Thank you again, Paardje, for your thoughtfulness. {hugs}


Liebster Award Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  2. Display the Liebster Award on your blog.
  3. Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  4. Answer the 11 questions you were asked.
  5. Nominate 11 bloggers with less than 200 followers for the Award and have them answer 11 questions.
  6. Let the other bloggers know you’ve nominated them.
  7. Copy the rules into your post.

11 Things You Might Not Know About Me

  1. I am half Chinese {mom’s side} and a mix of French, German, Italian, Irish, and Danish {dad’s side}.
  2. At 4-years-old, I accidentally flushed my grandmother’s dentures down the toilet. They were wrapped in paper towels on the bathroom sink and I thought I was helping “clean”. Oops!
  3. I worked in a hotel gift shop chain in various hotels in New Orleans and, during my time there, I met celebrities, including Ray Parker, Jr., K.C. {of KC & The Sunshine Band}, Air Supply’s drummer, Ronnie James Dio, The 4 Tops, The Temptations, Gladys Knight and Mariette Hartley.
  4. My favorite console game of all time is Final Fantasy VII. I still listen to Wutai {amongst others} by the talented composer, Nobuo Uematsu.
  5. I was chosen as my nephew’s Godmother when I was only 15.
  6. My Godmother was my oldest 1st cousin. She’s now one of my Guardian Angels. ❤
  7. I was the first of the entire Kindergarten “grade” to learn how to read. My teacher gave me the “job” of giving out the crayon boxes because I was the only one who could read the names. She also brought me around the school to read for the principal and other classes.
  8. My first car was a ’77 Toyota Celica that I painted metallic blue and called “Blue Silver”.
  9. I’m still in touch with the first friends I ever made in school at age 5 ~ 46 years ago.
  10. I got my ears pierced at age 9. When I was in my early 20’s, my best friend and I each got one ear pierced again but mine got infected so I had to let that one close.
  11. I am considering a discreet tattoo of either my name in my mom’s handwriting or Chinese symbols representing her Chinese name, with a tiny lily {short version of my grandmother’s name}.

11 Questions Answered 

What’s your favorite song right now? 

Heart – Stairway to Heaven (Live at Kennedy Center Honors)

Coffee, tea or …?

P.J.’s {Iced} Coffee, {Tetley} Tea or water.

What’s something that can immediately cheer you up?

Spending time with those I care most about or writing sessions in P.J.’s.

Are you a morning or an evening person?

I do my best work in the evening or wee hours of the morning.

Favorite day of the week?

Saturday. I try to make it my day to do whatever I want to do.

Name one thing you taught yourself to do.

Use a PC and HTML coding. When I first bought a computer {in Summer, 1992}, I knew nothing about them so I spent my pregnancy learning how to use one.

What’s one thing you plan to tick off from your bucket list this year.

Publish at least one book.

Favorite way to relax.

Meditate or go to P.J.’s for a writing session over coffee.

What do you like the most about yourself?

My creativity or empathic nature.

What’s your favorite room in your house?

I don’t have a favorite at the moment, but it’s subject to change when I move.

Favorite hobby?

Writing. {Surprise…}

 


My Nominees:

  1. Striving For Growth {Megan}
  2. Thoughts Of a Train-Wrecked Pineapple {Carlos}
  3. The Journal of Irvin Shandy {Irvin}
  4. Soundtrack of a Photograph {Rob}
  5. ACT Made Lyrical {Corinne}
  6. To Hear Life {Liza}
  7. A Quirky Something {Kelli}
  8. Public Exposure {Jerry}
  9. Jan’s Doodles {Janani}
  10. Twitchy Woman {Sharon}
  11. A Lightning Bug {Deb}

 


My questions for my nominees:

  1. If you could meet one famous person, who would it be?
  2. List 5 songs that would appear on the soundtrack of your high school years.
  3. If you could tell your younger self 5 things that you feel are important to know for the transition to adulthood, what would they be?
  4. What would your ideal day consist of?
  5. What is your go-to website when you’re bored and need cheering up?
  6. Where is your ideal place to write?
  7. What’s your most prized possession and who gave it to you {or where did you get it}?
  8. What’s the one thing on your bucket list that you absolutely have to do?
  9. Are you still in touch with the first friend you ever made, outside of your family?
  10. Is there a teacher who taught you something that still sticks with you even now? If so, who’s the teacher and what was the lesson?
  11. If someone made a movie about you and your life, what genre would it be and why?

In closing, I would just like to say:

To my dear Nominees: Congratulations to you all! I nominated you because I sincerely believe you deserve this award and the potential traffic it may bring. Having said that, I understand that not everyone wants to participate in blog award posts so please know that you’re not hurting my feelings if you don’t accept this award. I participate because I appreciate the “nod” I receive from the fellow blogger who nominated me; it’s a true honor when someone thinks enough of my blog/writing to nominate me.

To my dear Readers: Thank you for following/subscribing and supporting Writeful Mind. I look forward to continued interaction with you all in the coming months and invite you to visit the wonderful blogs I’ve nominated; their authors are awesome.

Happy Weekend, Y’all!

10 thoughts on “Liebster Award: My 11 of Everything

  1. Hi Carol. I’m sorry that I’m just now responding to this. Thank you for mentioning me and my blog! I feel privileged. 🙂 I’m not participating in awards right now (I may in the future), but I appreciate your mention nonetheless.

    See you over in the Cafe Blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

