Setting Goals for 2016

New Year Quote image

FIERCE!

Happy New Year from Writeful Mind!

It’s a brand new year in the blogosphere and I wanted to {again} thank my awesome readers for supporting this blog by regularly visiting, commenting, “liking” my posts, and giving me valuable feedback. Y’all are simply awesome. I look forward to more interacting with y’all in the next 12 months and can’t wait to see what this year brings us.

Our growing blogging group on Facebook is not only gaining new members but we’re also expanding and looking at new projects in the coming weeks. We now have a group blog and we’re busy brainstorming ideas about the featured posts, as well as other great features. It’s the first group blog I’ve ever done and I just know that the diversity in our writing styles and niches will make it a unique, successful project, filled with great content for our followers. Additionally, helping my fellow members of Café Blog grow their blogs {and social media presence} is only a small fraction of my blogging plans this year.

I’m pretty excited about the upcoming courses offered through WordPress! In February, I’ll be taking Writing 201: Finding Your Story and in March, Photography 101: A Shot a Day. My WordPress “education” {which began last July with Blogging 101 and continued when I took Blogging 201: Branding and Growth and Writing 101: Finding Everyday Inspiration, both in September} and I would highly recommend WordPress courses to anyone who wants to learn more about blogging, writing, etc. If you’re interested in seeing a list of courses and upcoming schedules, you can go to the Blogging University page, which includes an enrollment form for all the available courses. I’m especially looking forward to the Photography 101 course because I really do want to take more pictures, but it never occurs to me to do so while I’m out and about. I think that if I’m able to establish the habit of taking pictures, it’ll help me develop {ha! see what I did there!} a “photography mind”. Wish me luck!

Tennyson Quote image

It WILL be Happier.

On a personal level, I don’t normally make resolutions, other than taking one day at a time and striving to be the best version of myself. This year, I do plan to take my Lenten sacrifices more seriously than I have for the past couple of years. Usually, I give up sugar, fast food, junk food, soft drinks, and I find that ridding my body of sugar and the cravings that come along with it really helps me feel more energetic. For the past couple years, I wasn’t into the whole “making sacrifices” thing and I think God understood, considering I was coping with my mother’s stroke/passing soon after Mardi Gras/Ash Wednesday in 2014 and the continued grieving process in 2015. Mardi Gras is early this year ~ 9 February ~ so I have a few weeks to psych myself up.

Other things I’m planning for 2016:

  1. Establish better sleep patterns with the help of my fitness tracker.
  2. Establish a more regular exercise routine with the help of my fitness tracker.
  3. De-clutter my house and do a proper spring cleaning/organizing.
  4. Support my daughter through the rest of her pregnancy and prepare for my grandchild’s arrival.
  5. Publish the book for Café Sanctuary.
  6. More coffee meetings with friends {group and individual}.
  7. Improve my time management skills.
  8. Go to church more.
  9. Read more.

What events are you most/least looking forward to this year? Were you glad to see 2015 end? What sort of goals and dreams do you have for 2016? Any predictions?

I feel a mix of excitement ~ good and scary. No doubt we’ll have some challenges ahead, but I think that as long as we take one day at a time, we’ll be okay. I have a lot of love and support from my friends. All I can do now is say, Bring it, 2016! I’m ready!

happy new year image

 

 

4 thoughts on “Setting Goals for 2016

  1. Great goals for yourself. I think you have seen mine already so I won’t litter your comments with them again, but I am definitely inspired to make my blog grow much more in 2016. 2015 was the best since I began my blog in late 2013, but 2016 is the year it is going to really bust out! Which in a way is my prediction for the year. I’m also excited to begin working on a research project. 2015 started off great with us moving and lots of hard work and excitement but it ended kind of…meh, so I’m very much looking forward to 2016. Great post as always!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, my friend! I just know you’re going to have the best blogging year ever! And I’m glad I’ll be around to see it and support you through it! {Hugs}

      Like

Leave a Reply

