ER Adventures at 2:30AM

During the early morning hours of this past Monday, Sarah and I sat in the ER of our local hospital, due to her experiencing cramps and spotting. I thought it best to bring her in to check that things were okay. The experience of being in an ER bed was nothing new to us; we’d been there a few times before so we knew the drill. Initially, they drew some blood and then we had to wait a little while for an ultrasound.

What followed during that period was a heartfelt conversation in which my daughter’s true feelings about her pregnancy surfaced. The idea of losing the baby made her realize just how much she has grown to love him/her in the short time we’ve known about her pregnancy.

She then said, ‘I’ve put you through some shit, haven’t I?’

I laughed and nodded. ‘Yes, you have.’

‘And you’re willing to go through more. I feel a greater respect for you now.’

‘That’s what moms do. You’ll find out when your baby’s born and you realize there’s nothing you wouldn’t do for your child.’

‘I love you.’

‘I love you, too, babe.’

A few minutes later, I noticed her taking photos of her I.V. and hospital I.D. bands. ‘Instagram?’

She shook her head. ‘SnapChat.’

I shook my head. ‘You’d better not be doing that during labor.’ Pause, pretending to text on my phone, ‘”Here comes another contraction…and it’s a DOOZY ~ LOL.”‘ Pause. ‘”Getting an epidural. Whew! ~ LOL.”‘

‘”Just gave birth ~ LOL.”

By this time, we were both laughing. Not long after that, they did an ultrasound and we saw the little bean with a heartbeat. The doctor confirmed everything was okay, but advised us to follow-up with the OB-GYN, who advised bed rest and taking it easy. Needless to say, we were both exhausted …and relieved. What’s more, we emerged from the hospital {90 minutes after our arrival there}, knowing we’d made a great deal of progress in our healing.

Everything for a reason.

{Note: The featured image is indicative of the relationship my daughter and I are slowly getting back. We have our own brand of silliness that people around us say is “cute” when they see it. I used this photo because the conversation that took place in the hospital illustrates how far we’ve come since we experienced the abuse/parental alienation. How we are in this picture is the closeness we’re striving for. Daily.}

One thought on “ER Adventures at 2:30AM

Leave a Reply

