Our Growing Family

I’ve not been posting very much lately, but after reading this post, you’ll understand why.

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve had to get used to the idea that I’m going to be…a grandmother next July. Given that I wasn’t expecting to be a grandmother for a while, the news came as a shock. A new baby in our family is certainly a life-changing event! I won’t pretend it’s an ideal situation, but it’s also not the end of the world. Although my daughter is still in high school, I sincerely believe that she has the strength to get through this and continue with her education because she has a strong support network rallying around her. She comes from a family of strong women who always made it their business to get things done for themselves and their families.

Part of my self-care means learning how to stay calm in a less-than-ideal situation such as this one. Getting hysterical is of no help to anyone and I knew that I had to deal with the news very calmly. I recognize that it took a lot of courage for my daughter to tell me and I commended her for it. This is not to say that I condone what she did or that I’m high-fiving her for giving me a grandchild while she’s still in high school, but there’s no changing what has happened. I explained to her that we have a choice when it comes to how we view our situation and I choose to see it in a positive way. How can a baby not be a blessing? We have been through far worse than this and we will get through this together.

Grandbean image

My Little GrandBean

The last couple of weeks have not been easy, but we’re now moving forward and embracing our life-changing situation. We’re eternally grateful for all the support we’ve gotten from everyone. My daughter and I are now working on a joint blog project, in which we are chronicling the next 7 months, from both very different perspectives. We believe we can help others in many aspects by sharing our experiences and information about the resources that are helping us. We’re not glamorizing this in any way; our blogs will contain the “realness” of our situation and not some polite, over-thought posts designed to sugar-coat the truth. If you’re interested in reading either ~ or both ~ blogs, you can visit my daughter’s blog, Confused Teenage Mum and mine is called Gran Musings. If you know anyone who might enjoy and/or benefit from reading our blogs, please feel free to pass them our links. We would love to hear other stories from those who have found themselves in similar situations.

My daughter’s first prenatal appointment was this past Wednesday, during which she had an ultrasound. When we saw the image on the screen, we were both in tears. When I showed the picture one of my best friends, she said, “Look at the little bean!” And from there, “GrandBean” became the word of the day. Now everyone calls it my grandbean.

Although this isn’t a typical “Feel-Good Friday” post, all about self-care or me-time, I couldn’t resist sharing the news about my precious little grandbean. I’m definitely in a much calmer place than I was a couple of weeks ago when I first heard the news. Here begins a new chapter in our lives, filled with challenges as well as joy. All my grandparent-friends boast about how wonderful it is to be a grandparent and tell me how much I’m going to love being in “the club”. Every time I look at the little bean’s ultrasound, I smile; if that isn’t a “Feel-Good Friday” moment, I don’t know what is. ❤

Writeful Mind Feel-Good Friday Logo

Click Me for FGF Info!

Happy Feel-Good Friday!

14 thoughts on “Our Growing Family

  1. Wishing your daughter a good pregnancy and that you have a healthy grandbaby when (s)he is born. From the sound of it I can see that the upcoming new family member will be welcomed into your arms with love..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Indeed! Regardless of the circumstances, a baby is always a blessing to me, especially when that baby is my very first grandchild. 🙂

      Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a kind comment. {Hugs}

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember the feeling of receiving that kind of unexpected news. My first grandchild is now 31, and we have a close relationship, even though she lives almost 1000 miles away from me. I respect you for your acceptance of the unexpected situation, and I think the dual blogs are a great idea. Blessings on you both and the little GrandBean too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. I appreciate that you took the time to post such a supportive comment.

      I know it must be difficult to be so far away from your granddaughter. I can relate to the long distance aspect of a close relationship. When I lived in the UK for 16 years, my mother and I spoke every week via telephone and, later, Skype. I miss those phone calls now that she’s no longer physically with us, but I still talk to her regularly.

      I do hope you’ll continue to visit. {Hugs}

      Like

  3. Congrats!! It looks like Grandbean is going to have a very loving grandma!! I don’t know how it most feel for neither of you as I made it all the way to 27 without even being scared but I know that a new life always means happiness. Enjoy your growing family!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I was actually 27 when I got pregnant when my son and I find it difficult to accept that he will be 23 in less than a month.

      I didn’t feel ready for a baby at that age and then when my daughter was born, I was 34. I thought things would be easier because I’d been through it before. Boy was I wrong! Kids have a way of showing us that we have to learn as we go along, regardless of our age when they’re born.

      Nice to hear from you! Thanks for dropping by. {hugs}

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations! Although not ideal, you are right that a baby is definitely still a blessing. She is very lucky to have such a wonderful and supportive mother. 🙂 I like your idea about both doing blogs to show the realness of it, I’ll definitely be checking those out!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Absolutely! It’s always nice to know someone’s there with an ear to read what you have to say and be there. 🙂 I always enjoy reading your posts, and look forward to hearing about both of your journeys! Even through the tough times.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I already have a slew of posts to write for Gran Musings. It’s the first blog I’ve ever had that I’ve actually been this far behind in posts, before it was even created. lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Indeed! It’s finding the time to write the posts…things are happening so quickly. I might have to start using the dictation app thingy on my phone to make sure I don’t forget anything. I hope you’re well and that you had a great Thanksgiving. Email when you can. {hugs}

        Like

Leave a Reply

