Global Solidarity

If you ask:

“How do we deal with terrorism?”

…you wind up with a multitude of answers, depending on the perspective of the people asked to answer.

Many might say that the only way to deal with such an issue is to eliminate the relevant perpetrators. Effective? Maybe. However, what we know from experience is this: eliminate one, others manifest, even more dangerous than the former. The bottom line is, there will always be those among us who set out to destroy us, for whatever reasons we cannot possibly wrap our minds around. I do think that we must maximize our safety within OUR borders, wherever we live. It’s one thing to help refugees who genuinely need our help, but it’s not our responsibility to house those who pose a grave threat to our people.

Protecting ourselves seems an insurmountable task because, in many aspects, we’re dealing with an invisible enemy. Granted, we know who the enemy is, but we don’t know how many people among us serve that enemy or who they even are or when they’ll strike. Terrorism is the implication of a threat and often that’s enough to instill fear; when that threat is carried out in a mass attack on innocent people, it leaves us feeling helpless and unsure of what to do. We comfort each other. We unite to support those who need support. We do what we know how to do. It’s what we don’t know how to do that troubles us.

I will unapologetically say that the answer is not to meet violence with more violence. I have often said that revenge is a dangerous thing. When we act in retaliation, all we are really doing is inviting our enemy to up the stakes, which means putting us all in even more danger than ever before. We cannot afford to say, “Wrong us and we’ll show you what we’re capable of.” In this case, “their” currency is the loss of human life and it’s not a price I want us to pay. Too many lives have been lost; too much blood has been shed.

We must find another, more effective way of dealing with terrorism.

Those of us who strive for peace, humanity, love, and unity must make it our primary task to spread those things like never before. We must band together and strengthen everything that is good and positive in this world. There is strength in numbers, but we will never know just how big of a number we can all be if we remain a fragmented society that condemns the differences in other people. I often pride myself on being a non-conformist, but in this case, I make an exception because of what it means for the greater good of us all and our future generations. No more fighting among those who are supposed to be on the same side. Seriously. It’s not going to get us anywhere in the long run.

“Good” must outweigh “evil” in order for “good” to be the force that wins. We want “good” to win because the alternative doesn’t bear thinking about. WE must think of our future generations, filled with our precious children and grandchildren. We want to leave a safer world to them so that they don’t live in fear.

We must focus on the things we want to strive for ~ peace, joy, safety, kindness, compassion, generosity, positivity, understanding, respect, acceptance.

And yes…SOLIDARITY.

8 thoughts on “Global Solidarity

  1. You speak a lot of truth here Carol. I think this was especially true-
    I will unapologetically say that the answer is not to meet violence with more violence. I have often said that revenge is a dangerous thing. When we act in retaliation, all we are really doing is inviting our enemy to up the stakes, which means putting us all in even more danger than ever before. We cannot afford to say, “Wrong us and we’ll show you what we’re capable of.” In this case, “their” currency is the loss of human life and it’s not a price I want us to pay. Too many lives have been lost; too much blood has been shed.

    When I was 11 we were going through the Iran hostage crisis. I remember the ‘nuke them’ mentality at the time, but even being as young as I was, I knew that wasn’t an effective answer. Sadly I still hear this attitude today and I don’t personally believe it could, or would ever resolve anything. Emotions are high right now, but your reasoning rings true with me.

    Great job on this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Robert. I just wish this message would spread and more people would see that we need to focus on the sort of world we want.
      Mother Teresa said it best: “I was once asked why I don’t participate in anti-war demonstrations. I said that I will never do that, but as soon as you have a pro-peace rally, I’ll be there.”

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I like that quote. We do need to focus on the world we want, and I think we would do well with less poverty, food for everyone, and human rights for all. If we made those goals we actually worked on it would help.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Yes! When something horrible happens it is natural to feel helpless and angry. The majority of the time we can’t change or fix the situation. Helping and loving others is the best way to “fight” back. The concept seems counterintuitive but love is powerful. Let’s use our powers for good. Great post Carol! Thanks! xo Whitney

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Whitney! I’m so pleased whenever you drop by.

      I, too, am a big advocate for “paying it forward”. I think that the more we do to restore faith in humankind, the better. I’m trying to keep positive that it’ll happen and I strive to help people as much as I can.

      {Hugs}

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hugs to you Carol. I was thinking instead of giving blogger awards or doing quote challenges maybe we should have Good Deed challenges during the holiday season? What do you think? Or a pay-it-forward challenge?

        Like

      2. That sounds awesome! I would love to be part of that. Count me in! Maybe we could discuss it in the FB group and make it a group event or something. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

