Writeful Mind Event: Feel Good Friday {2}

We all have that one place we go to where negativity ceases to exist. It’s where the magic happens, whatever that means for each of us. For me, it’s my local PJ’s Coffee of New Orleans café. It’s one of the few places I can go where the creative process just happens. {Every. Single. Time.} Filling my notebook is effortless, even if I’m plagued with writer’s block. I believe it has a lot to do with believing I’m {in the zone} even before I get there; it’s almost as if my brain is conditioned, based on the 100% success rate since I started writing in cafés. {In the U.K., my favorite place to write was at Caffé Nero.}

It’s been part of my regular routine for over 3 years and everyone who knows me knows that I’m old-fashioned when it comes to writing ~ notebook & pen. I find that method works best for me because it brings me back to the “rawness” of the creative process I used at age 12; all I needed then was my notebook / pen and it’s all I need now.

Velvet Ice image

The process begins with the coffee purchase. The baristas know me well enough to recommend certain flavors for my coffee {today: eggnog}. PJ’s also sells wonderful cheesecake bites that are “just enough” for a taste without too much guilt. Because what’s a “happy place” without a small bit of indulgence, right?

Although my preferred table is the one by the window, I don’t mind any of the other ones because I like the general ambiance and view from whichever table I choose. Once I’m situated {headphones in and listening to my Amazon playlist, notebook open to a blank page, pen out, my first sip of coffee}, I’m good to go. I write until I feel it’s time to stop and then I go home to transcribe to my computer.

PJ's Cafe image

As far as I’m concerned, this is the best part of the creative process. I have a passionate love of writing, but this process makes it a million times more enjoyable. To know that there’s a place where my muse will always come through for me, no matter what I write about, no matter how stuck I was before is the best form of self-care ever, as well as the best way to spend me-time.

Where’s your positive place? How do you spend your time there? What about your positive place makes it so special for you? What benefits does it offer? How does it make you feel? How often do you get there?

Writeful Mind Feel-Good Friday Logo

Click Me for FGF Info!

Until next time,

Happy Feel-Good Friday!

25 thoughts on “Writeful Mind Event: Feel Good Friday {2}

  1. Thank you for this vivid description of your writing habits Carol. I like to sit in my kitchen listening to classical music from the radio. I use both computer, iPhone and iPad as I have my pictures on these. Sometimes I go to our very nice library to sit among others and use the facilities. I then wear my noice reducing head set with my own music. When travelling I make drafts where ever I am to remember the inspiration I get. I only use pen and paper for noting key words. My WordPress is full of drafts.( By the way I couldn’t find the page for your Friday Event on doing good things for yourself ).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sounds like we have a lot in common, Maria. I love going to the library, too. My mother took me from the time I started reading {age 5} and I have been a member of the library ever since.

      I really do enjoy reading your blog and I’m so glad we crossed paths in the blogosphere. 🙂

      The link to my Friday event page:
      http://wp.me/p4ZgLE-5H

      Hope that helps! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have answered this question before on other blogs recently. For me it varies seasonally. Until March of this year we lived on the 5th floor of a walkup for over 10 years. It was fine until we started being homebodies more, and then it had that closed in feeling. So we moved from Manhattan to Queens to a place with lots of sun, and…a balcony! From spring until basically right now it was my place. Sitting out there with a beverage of some sorts (depending on the time of day!) it quickly became my place. I sorted out a lot of ideas there in my head, jotting down in the notebook, and occasionally pulling the laptop out and actually writing. Since it is now getting cooler I need to find a new place and I think I found it recently. It is a bar called Dutch Kills Centraal about a 15 minute walk from our apartment and easy to get to from the subway coming home from work. I like bars in general, but am very particular about the type of place I like to call ‘home’. First of all it has to be a quiet place. No sports bars or loud thumpy music, but quiet music and conversations buzzing. It has to have a nice dark wood feel to the place and interesting decorations that aren’t distracting.Since we moved we have been going all over the neighborhood and there are great places but none that felt completely right. Now I found it, and my newest one was formulated there. I’ve had the most comments on this post so I figure I must be doing something right!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “The Place” is very important. Do you use a laptop or a notebook? I’m so glad you’ve found somewhere to replace the balcony {although that sounded pretty awesome, too!}. 🙂

    I sometimes go to the park with my notebook, if I feel like being outdoors. I find that it’s not as effective a place as the café. I agree with you about the noise levels; it has to be quiet’ish, but not too quiet.

    Thank you so much for sharing! I love hearing about what works for fellow writers! 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award | ACT Made Lyrical

  5. Hi Carol

    Hope you are having a fabulous feel good Friday! My latest post at actmadelyrical.com is entitled ACT and CHOICES and I have linked to you here at Feel Good Friday. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I have enjoyed writing it. It certainly helped me today.

    Love Corinne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: ACT and Feeling Good | ACT Made Lyrical

  7. Hi Carol. Another Feel Good Friday. This is a great concept for me as I spend more time thinking about feeling good than I would otherwise. I hope you enjoy today’s post. I have linked to you and it is entitled ACT and Feeling Good!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for linking your Feel-Good post! I haven’t had a chance to do anything in the blogosphere today but I will read it as soon as I can. I have my own post to publish, too. 🙂

      Thanks again for taking part. I hope that doing so is truly helping you! 🙂 {Hugs}

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: ACT and Reflection | ACT Made Lyrical

  9. Hi Carol. It’s Feel Good Friday again! Where did that week go? Anyway I have written my feel good post and linked to you here. I hope you will visit and enjoy! I am feeling particularly good today as I have finally learned how to directly share my posts with other groups! That has been a complete mystery up to me until now, so hooray for Feel Good Friday. Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: ACT and Acts of Kindness | ACT Made Lyrical

Leave a Reply

