Retro Sunday: Gallery {3}

As I continue to “fine-tune” my blog and its features, I have decided to continue with the “Retro Sunday”, but include fewer pictures per post because it is time-consuming to look through scores of pictures on Pinterest and, as much as I love doing that, I have too many other projects that I want to work on. So, here’s today’s picks.


Sears Catalog image

Where Christmas lists were born

I don’t know about you, but I was always excited to get the Sears Wish Book when it came out. I spent hours looking through the toy section to figure out what to ask for. What I loved about that time was that we didn’t have lists that went on forever, nor did I expect everything on the list. My mom usually picked the 2 things she thought I wanted most and the token things went in my stocking. Need I mention that I miss the days when we didn’t hear about Christmas until AFTER Thanksgiving?


Get Smart image

Would you believe…?

“Get Smart” was one of my favorite shows when I was a kid. I loved the gadgets he used, the catchphrases, his interactions with Agent 99 and The Chief, and most of all, the “Cone of Silence”.


Typewriter image

My first word processor

Ah, the good ol’ typewriter. The novelty of these wore off pretty quick for me. I eventually got an electric model with a built-in spell-check option, but it didn’t minimize my need for Liquid Paper if I didn’t want a pile of crumpled sheets all over the place. All I have to say is ~ thank goodness for Word!


 

Playground swing

How high did you swing?

When I was young, my mom took me to City Park in New Orleans where they had these awesome swings that hung on long chains from high frames. Loved those things because I could go higher than I could on the average swing. I wish there were playgrounds for adults. Don’t you?


Skeleton Key image

What did your key open?

Our house was old enough to have skeleton key locks and how I wish I still had the key to my old bedroom! I included this because I love antiquey things. Some modern things are good but quality and craftsmanship is not the same as it used to be. Things lasted forever when I was a kid. I also think that things had a lot more “character” because they were built with different functions in mind, but also well made. Give me an antique desk that’s elegant, intricately carved and has a gazillion different nooks and crannies for my stuff. When I win the lotto, I’m going antique hunting! Y’all know how much I love nostalgia and all things vintage and I’m going to live out the rest of my life surrounded by things from the past.


That’s all for this week! I hope you enjoyed my walk down memory lane, however brief{er} it was. Did anything strike a chord with you or trigger other memories? I would love to hear about your memories!

4 thoughts on “Retro Sunday: Gallery {3}

  1. Everything you listed resonated with me. Sears Wishbook – couldn’t wait until it was finished so I could make cut-outs of it. Swings – live in Canada but have used those swings in Central Park. Thanks for the smile.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so pleased you enjoyed my post. When I hear that my writing has elicited a smile, it makes doing what I do worthwhile. Please do continue to visit. {Hugs}

      Like

Leave a Reply

