Virtually Caffeinated Chat

If we were having coffee right now…I would tell you about my upcoming radio interview {gosh, that sounds so surreal!} in which I’ll be asked about my time in the U.K., how I’ve handled grieving for my mom, what I’ve done to settle back home, and my work with Café Sanctuary. I would tell you how nervous I am and that this is all so far out of my comfort zone. And you would say, “Great things happen outside of your comfort zone.” And I would nod and tell you that I’m just grateful for the opportunity to help more people.

If we were having coffee right now…I would tell you about how the 2 WordPress courses I’m taking ~ Writing 101 and Blogging 201 ~ are extremely challenging and that I’m behind by TWO assignments because my muse is not cooperating with me very well at the moment. I would also say that despite the challenges, I really do love the courses because I get to connect with so many awesome people and read some really great blogs.

If we were having coffee right now…I would tell you about the awesome coffee meetings I have with my former classmates every month and how fun it is to get together, share stories. I would explain how it’s been 30+ years since we graduated from school and that there’s a different mix of people for each meeting, depending on who can show up. Sometimes we’re surprised by people who show up without notice and sometimes people bring yearbooks, photo albums, and other keepsakes. I would tell you that our next meeting is next Saturday and how much I’m looking forward to it.

If we were having coffee right now…I would tell you about my mom who passed away 18 months ago yesterday and how amazingly beautiful she was. I would tell you that she has always been my rock through all of the difficulties and how we used to spend every Saturday together, watching morning cartoons, then going to “make groceries” {the Nawlins way of saying “grocery shopping”}, before spending the day exploring various stores and shopping malls all over the New Orleans area. We’d have lunch at different places every week and then proceed to browse all afternoon. We never rushed each other and usually mutually agreed when it was time to go home. I’d tell you how much I miss her…and probably ask for a hug!

If we were having coffee right now…I would tell you how excited I am to be a life coach, helping people start over and finding a purpose that makes them happy. I’d tell you about more about my niche ~ newly divorced {and looking for a new path in a new direction}; newly independent after fleeing abuse {and needing support to make an empowered fresh start}; those facing a change after loss or empty nest syndrome; newly relocated clients who need help with the multitude of challenges that come with moving to a new city. I would tell you about my desire to help people create the sort of lives they don’t need to escape from.

If we were having coffee right now…I’d ask you if you wanted to share a cinnamon roll with me because I want just enough for a taste and don’t need a whole one and the calorific guilt.that goes with it. Or if they didn’t have cinnamon rolls, I’d go for chocolate cake or cheesecake. Because cake is sooo good.

If we were having coffee right now…I’d probably ask you what you remember about your childhood and see if we have any similar experiences, growing up. I would mention a few things I remember and tell you some funny experiences I had. I’d ask you about your favorite shows, music, fads, movies and fan crushes. I’d tell you how much I love nostalgia and “miss the good ol’ days when…” And if you’re from New Orleans, we’d probably talk, for hours about people we knew and the stuff that “ain’t dere no more”.

If we were having coffee right now…I would ask you all about what’s new in your life and tell you just how much I enjoy our chats over coffee. ❤

30 thoughts on “Virtually Caffeinated Chat

  1. I love nostalgia and it is great for developing a common bond. Everyone’s experience of the same thing can be so different discussing them is fascinating. On our last holiday we went to some historical museums in small country towns and smiled to ourselves as we saw things from our past and were reminded how far we had come. Regular chat-ups overtime with old friends is a great idea and hard to arrange. Glad to meet you and hope chat-up again soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for stopping by and posting a comment!

      I started the coffee meetings because it seemed more difficult to get together for an “official” reunion. The beauty of these regular meetings is that people don’t feel bad about not showing up one month because they know there will be another chance. It has worked out very well since the first one this past March. I love that there’s a different mix of people each month, but the outcome is always the same ~ we have a great time every time. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I want to have a coffee with you now! 🙂 I’m behind with the assignments of the two course too 🙂 I was going to write about the coffee thing, but then i didn’t publish it as it was too dark… Like Billy no mates style 🙂 anyway, nice meeting you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If we were having coffee right now, I’d sing a line from a song “it started out with coffee, it started out as friends…it’s funny how from simple things..the best things begin..” some words may be wrong because…

    If we were having coffee right now, I’d be in my right mind to type the correct words. =)
    If we were having coffee right now, I’d tell you the ten thousand reasons I should hate God…and tell you the only ONE why I kept loving Him instead. =)

    Let’s have some coffee! =) Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Lori! I am honored and thank you for dropping by to leave a great comment. Let me know if you’re ever in the New Orleans area and I’d be totally up for it. 🙂

      Like

  4. I loved this! I truly felt we just caught up over a nice Cafe! I’m sorry to hear about your mom:( life is so painful sometimes, but…such is life! Good luck on the radio…more than anything…that is SO exciting!!! God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I love the ideas I’m getting from the course. Although I’ve found the assignments challenging, I’ve found it a good thing to find ways to overcome those challenges.

      Thanks for dropping by and for your comments! I hope you’ll continue to visit.

      Like

  5. What a beautiful post!! I loved this! I’m already a fan 🙂 You sound like someone I would to be friends with. That may not be possible, but I will follow your blog eagerly instead! Those wordpress courses sound great. Could you tell more about them or provide a link? Thanks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for dropping by and posting such a kind comment.

      Of course, we can be friends. I have so many friends that I know only from my time online and I honestly don’t know what I would do without them. Please feel free to connect with me on any other social media. I would love to know more about you.

      The courses are offered regularly and here’s the link to them: https://dailypost.wordpress.com/blogging-university/

      I completed Blogging 101 in July and am currently taking Blogging 201 and Writing 101. The link will lead you to the page where you can sign up for next month’s courses. They’re challenging and they have taught me a lot about WordPress that I didn’t already know {even though I’ve been here for a while!}. The best part? Getting to know fellow classmates and reading their blogs! I created a FB group for course participants where we share our posts and can ask advice if necessary.

      I hope this all helps!
      {Hugs}

      Like

  6. Pingback: Virtually Caffeinated Chat ~ Take II | Writeful Mind

  7. Pingback: Collaboration: Coffee With Noémie | Writeful Mind

  8. Pingback: Collaboration: A beer with Carol! | :: FocalHeart ::

Leave a Reply

