Stored Memories

A post I read the other day on a blog called James Proclaims was about the memories triggered by rediscovering things stored in an attic. Having experienced that myself recently, I posted a comment that I’d like to expand on for the Day 8 assignment. Thank you, James, for providing material for today’s post assignment! 🙂


Weeks after my return from the U.K., my family gave me the boxes they’d filled with the belongings I’d put into storage. I didn’t know what I would find; many of the boxes I’d left behind had become casualties of prolonged humidity and time. My family kept what they could salvage and threw away the rest.

Blazer Emblem Image
High School Uniform Blazer Emblem

Amongst the contents of the boxes were envelopes filled with pictures I hadn’t seen in years, afghans my grandmother crocheted, letters I’d received {in the days when “snail mail” was a common form of communication}, school-related things such as my diploma, cap/tassel, senior sweater, uniform blazer and all the school newsletters I’d saved. There were souvenirs from trips, concert t-shirts, and keepsakes that I’d forgotten about.

I felt an overwhelming sense of gratitude that the contents of those boxes were somehow preserved while they were tucked away in storage. I needed to experience looking through those things. Through the smiles, tears, and feelings of sentiment, I felt transported back to a time when my life was a lot simpler. For a little while, I forgot what had happened to me while I lived thousands of miles away and it was wonderfully therapeutic.

It’s made me think about the sort of things I’d like to preserve and hand down to my future grandchildren. I’m already filling journals with stories, information about family history, and details about how the world changes every year. Anything that gives my future grandchildren extensive knowledge of their ancestors is worth preserving.

What an awesome gift.

8 thoughts on “Stored Memories

    1. I am so sorry for the loss of your son. I lost my mom 18 months ago today and I’ve yet to go through her things. She lived with my sister and we just haven’t arranged for me to go there and do that yet. I know it’ll be emotional, but I think it will give me some closure.

      I am here if you need a shoulder.

      {Hugs}

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Carol, My mom died a year ago last month.
        I missed out out going through her things.
        My sister and my aunt were there to do it. I wish I would have been able to help. To pick out a few of her things no one else wanted/ I would have saved a lot of things.
        I still have trouble remembering she is not hear.
        After talking to my dad on the phone, I always want to ask for mom.
        I never expected one to die and not the other. Unrealistic but they were just that close.
        Thank you for this message. I am here as well. I am a good listener.
        HUGS

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Shortly after my mom passed away, my sister brought me a few things, including my mom’s glider chair/footstool. My sister told me that my mom wanted me to have it. Her words were, “That’s Carol’s chair.” I can’t tell you how moved I was to hear that. That chair gave her comfort in her final months. It sits in my bedroom now. I have sat in it a few times, but it’s still a bit painful.

        I’m happy that we have connected. I look forward to staying in touch. 🙂

        Like

    1. I’m very sentimental and a gesture or a token gift that’s given to me because it really means something is far more valuable than something expensive that’s mindlessly picked up at the store.

      When my daughter was younger, I put some baby clothes and all of the dresses my mother bought for her into a vacuum bag and a letter to her. I told her that it was for her to open when she was old enough to have her own baby and that the clothes and blankets would be handy but meaningful because they were originally hers. Unfortunately, someone in her paternal family didn’t really value that as something important and it was thrown out. The worst thing was that those dresses were a connection to my mother, who passed away last year…and now we don’t have them anymore because someone decided they weren’t worth saving. I can’t tell you how sad it makes me. What’s done is done, but it still wasn’t right.

      Like

Leave a Reply

