Writing Spaces

Home Office

Image of Writing Space
                       Lookie what’s on the screen!

When I sit down to work on a post or one of my projects, I start at my computer. Sometimes I’ll strike gold on the first try, others…not so much. If there’s no deadline and I can’t think of anything, I work on something else. If it’s something I want to complete by a specific time {such as the Blogging / Writing course assignments}, I’ll get my current notebook and try to write something the “old-fashioned” way. I write in the notebook until I feel the block is gone and go back to my desk to transcribe, re-write, continue.

Cup of tea image
           Tea ~ the answer to writer’s block!

If the weather’s a bit cooler, I fix a cup of tea and all is right with the world and what’s going on at my desk. Having lived in the U.K. for so many years, I understand why tea is revered as the “miracle drink” that makes everything instantly better. Bad day at work? Here, have a cuppa, luv! Impossible case of writer’s block? Put the kettle on! Tetley {or PG Tips or Yorkshire Tea or Earl Grey} will get the stream of words going again! So convinced was I of the magical wonders of hot tea that, even living back in the U.S. I still have at least 2 cups of Tetley tea during the fall and winter months. When I’m at home, that is. It goes so well with my writing sessions.

Office Away From Home

Coffee and Notebook Graphic
   Essentials ~ check!

I love writing at my favorite café, P.J.’s Coffee of New Orleans, so much that I never have trouble filling pages and pages of my notebook. It’s one of my favorite “happy places” in the world. They have the best coffee and some really sublime baked goods, if one’s so inclined.

When I sit down at the table with my coffee, notebook and pen at hand, my muse appears and the words flow effortlessly. I take a break when necessary but I don’t feel the least bit distracted by social media or my household “To-Do” lists lurking in my “I really should” mentality. It’s where I’m most productive and I can fill a dozen or more pages on a good day. I like this place because it’s local {I prefer supporting local businesses} and there’s always a chance that someone I know will walk in. The beauty of going to the café is knowing that, regardless of what I’m writing about, I’m going to produce a lot of content in one sitting. It’s a great frame of mind to be in ~ the positivity facilitates the process.

View from my café table graphic
                     Best. Office. Ever.

I usually stay at the café for about 2 or 3 hours; that’s usually how long it takes before I feel that I written enough to transcribe at home. I let it rest for a couple of days before transferring / re-writing into a document because I always believe in approaching things with a fresh perspective. Sometimes the content is draining and I can’t look at it right away.

I have nothing against using a laptop in a café. We all have our preferred writing methods and whatever works for us is what we should do. Personally, I think there’s just something about sitting at my table and writing in my notebooks, just as I did when I wrote that first story in that first notebook at age 12. Maybe the idea {of reverting back to my original writing method} is one of the reasons the writing flows better.

Now you know a bit more about my writing spaces and method of creativity, I’ll close this post with a poll. This is where YOU, my dear readers, get to vote on the things you want to see me write about in future posts. How fun is that? You choose, I write, even if it means writing about something outside of my comfort zone. You can choose up to 3 and I’ll write posts using the top 3 ideas before the course is over {and maybe more of the choices, should I need inspiration for future posts}.  Ready to vote? Go!

10 thoughts on “Writing Spaces

    1. Thank you so much for dropping by and for your kind comment. I’m now following your blog and look forward to more posts from you, too. 🙂

      Kindest Regards,
      Carol

      Like

  1. I love writing by hand first. There was a time when I said that there’s no difference between writing by hand and typing on a keyboard, but I’ve since changed my mind – pen and paper is much better while fishing for and developing an idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For me, it’s about maintaining that connection with my innocent 12-year-old self and appreciating that I was merely following my instinct to take that first step toward something that would stick with me for a lifetime. 🙂

      Thank you for dropping by and posting a comment!

      Kindest Regards,
      Carol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love the ease of the computer. I can type here and I could never type on a typewriter…
        I love journals and notebooks and pens and paper.
        I love reading a book. Not an e book or a story on the computer.
        I do all the time only because they are free.
        I want to hold a real book.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree about typewriters! I had a couple of them at different times of my life but I found them incredibly frustrating because I make so many mistakes typing.

    You sound old-fashioned like me. I prefer pen, paper, real books. I love office supplies and stationery! In the U.K., there was this really neat stationery place called Paperchase that I miss. There were so many pretty notebooks, journals and stationery in there. You’d have loved it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

