Creative Procrastination


I am creative. I am a writer. I procrastinate.

Now that I’ve got my declarations out the way, I want to talk about my creative process. I’m always in creative mode ~ mulling over ideas for projects or blog posts ~ even when I’m not writing. I can’t shut off:  What will I write about next? How can I get what’s in my head to sound the way I want it to on my screen? Whoa, that’s a good idea for a post; I’d better write it down {sometimes I get sidetracked and forget}. I really need to work on this post/that chapter/this other article/that section rewrite. Where are you, muse? Why can’t I write at my computer? Do I really need to go to the café to overcome this block?

Did I mention I’m sleep deprived? Oh yes, yes I did ~ see “I can’t shut off” mentioned above. Between feeling tired and frustrated, I understand how the procrastination kicks in. One minute I’ll be typing something that sounds great in my head but when I read it back, I think, “Huh?” While I’m shaking my head over my inability to write a decent sentence at that moment, my eyes drift up to my browser tabs. And then…”Oh, look! A Facebook message!” {click on Facebook tab} and become engrossed in a chat. Hmmmm…it won’t hurt to post something or check my feed whilst my friend is typing a response. In my feed, I’m guaranteed to see a link that I must explore; that Facebook has a “Save Link” feature is lost on me. If I don’t explore the link now, I’ll forget. In the meantime, my friend has responded but given up on any hope of a conversation because I didn’t respond back in a timely fashion. Why? Because I’m too busy looking at the humor boards on Pinterest {and wiping tears of laughter from my eyes} after deciding the aforementioned link wasn’t that interesting anyway. BUT, then I notice something that might be useful in my writing and understand that I needed to be on Pinterest to see that useful writing thing in the first place. I hasten to add that by the time I’ve realized just how much I’ve been side-tracked, I have a gazillion tabs open {and I can’t find the one that’s playing a video I don’t want to see so I can close it!}.

How success really is.
Twists and turns are more interesting.

My point is, procrastination may {temporarily} kill creativity, but it’s a necessary part of the process. Sometimes I need the diversion from the intensity of writing. Chatting with friends on Facebook or laughing at things on Pinterest breaks it up a bit so that I can go back to it with a fresher perspective. The process is complex and twisty, as it should be.

Know what? I was never one to follow a simple, straight path anyway.

16 thoughts on “Creative Procrastination

    1. Hi Megan! I think the squiggly arrow applies to most aspects of life. It’s all a part of the journey and the twists make it more interesting. 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting. Wishing you a great weekend!

      {Hugs}

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I think there’s brilliant creativity in that space between wakefulness and sleep.

      Sometimes, I experience drifting between periods of dozing off between semi sleep/semi wakefulness and my dreams get really interesting to a point where I’m can’t tell if they’re dreams or reality. It doesn’t happen often, but I should arm myself with a notebook to record what I remember from those experiences. 🙂

      Like

  1. “Can’t shut it off…” I hear you there! But I call that “PREcrastination.” For me, if I start putting off a creative project, I’ll never do it at all. For these prompts here on Writing 101, I see one, and BANG, I’m off. Now, I’m a firm believer in editing and revising, but if I think too hard about trying to get ready to write, I’ll convince myself that what I’m about to write will never be good enough.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean about overthinking the process. I do that too.

      The last 3 assignments have been challenging. I was so tired and frustrated last night that I gave up and decided to sleep on it. Thank goodness it worked. lol 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Tracey!

        I always lovingly refer to myself as “the poster child for guilt” because that’s what growing up in a Catholic school will do to a person. Hey…maybe there’s a post in that somewhere. If the Writing 101 course gives us an assignment to write about our religious background or what it’s like to be a poster child for guilt, I hope they’re prepared for an Epic novel. lol

        Like

  2. I identify with all of this.

    Working at WordPress.com, sometimes my days are filled with a whole lot of clicking and reading and clicking and reading (x infinity) — oftentimes it feels unproductive, but then at the end of the day I’ll have found great new bloggers, a handful of awesome posts, and ideas for the next day.

    Oh, the life of the cyberflaneur 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Cheri!

      It’s so lovely to hear from you. Thank you for dropping by and posting a comment.

      Sometimes it doesn’t matter how slowly things seem to be going, as long as you’re moving forward and focus on the positives as much as possible. 🙂

      Thanks for teaching me that I’m a cyberflaneur, too. It has a better ring to it than merely “surfing the web”. 🙂

      Looking forward to {being challenged by} the next assignment!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, I guess this is typical for us, writers. I also have the attention span of a noodle and it is so hard for me to concentrate on just one thing sometimes. In other words, I’m the same. One minute I write, the next I’m listening to a song on youtube while watching the MV, then I’m reading other people’s writings, it’s time for a little snack and so on and so forth.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I find that my inspiration and productivity vary. Sometimes I’ll try for hours and write only a few lines that I wind up deleting. Then there will be days when I write 3 posts effortlessly. I have learned to allow the writing to happen when it does. Less pressure that way. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

