Writing 101, Day 2: Write a List

Things I Like

P.J.'s Café

          The view from my table at P.J.’s.

  1. Writing in my favorite café. When I’m sitting at a table there, filling pages of my notebook in between sips of P.J.’s {of New Orleans} coffee, I’m truly in my element. It’s one of my favorite places to go.

2. Going to sleep, knowing I don’t have to get up early the next morning.          Equally as pleasing ~ waking up and seeing I have more time to sleep.

3. A cup of hot tea on a chilly day. It’s very warming and soothing. Hot tea is one of my favorite things about the cooler weather. And it has to be Tetley ~ the best tea ever. Thank goodness Amazon sells it!

4. The endorphin rush after a work-out. I always feel better after working out and I never mind the aches I experience afterward.

5. Making my kiddos laugh by acting silly at random. Enough said.


kitty image

               Cali & Minoux, snoozin’.

6. Watching our kitties grow and bond    with us. They’re starting to bare their    claws less now. It’s sweet when they    touch our faces and show us they’re      happy we’re their humans.


7. Nostalgia. I love looking at old pictures, listening to music that brings back memories, reminiscing with friends over coffee, remembering the trends that were popular when I was a young’un, watching T.V. shows from my childhood. I love seeing old pictures of New Orleans and like to imagine what life was like back when my grandparents and parents were kids. I wonder what my grandfather {who died in 1934} would make of modern New Orleans.

8. Road trips. One of my bucket list items is traveling the length of Route 66. I like the idea of getting in the car and driving until something interesting appears. I  like the idea of being with my closest peeps, talking, singing, exploring, sharing perspectives of what we see.

9. Stormy weather when we don’t have to leave the house. I love being able to relax in my pajamas, doing whatever I wanna do. No demands, no rushing. Just listen to the rain, nap if I’m tired, drink tea if it’s cold. Bliss.

10. Things that make me laugh unexpectedly. I like browsing through the humor boards on Pinterest or watching funny videos on YouTube. I get a good core workout if I stumble upon something funny that I’m not expecting. Laughing until I’m crying is good therapy. More please.

11. An unexpected text from friends, just to say that they’re thinking of me and wanted to say “I love you.” That warms my heart big time. I know…I’m so mushy. I guess it won’t surprise y’all that I’m a huge fan of hugging.

12. Certain desserts ~ beignets, cheesecake, tiramisu, red velvet cake, apple pie served with custard. I don’t have those things often, but when I do, I’m a very happy girl.

13. Men’s cologne. But a subtle hint. No bathing in it.

14. Office supplies and stationery. I don’t know if it’s a writer thing, but I could spend hours in a store that sells stationery, journals, office supplies. I’m kinda picky about the pens I use.


Votive candles at my church.

         Votive candles at my church.

15. Going to church to light candles and pray. I find this a great source of comfort, especially when it’s a nice day and I can sit outside in the meditation garden. It’s so beautiful there, and it’s a great place to connect with God.


16. My birthday. I’m not one of those people who dreads getting older. I love my birthday, which is made more special because my son’s birthday is the day before mine, my birthday is also my daughter’s half-birthday, my mother was a fellow December baby {as is my sister} and it falls during my favorite holiday season of the year. I look at it as being another year wiser and another year that I’ve survived with my health intact.

17. The library. I’ve belonged to the public library since I was 5, when my mom took me. I’ve always loved reading. I would love one of the rooms in my house to be a library and am certain it’ll happen one day.

18. Video/Computer games. Yes, I’ve been a gamer since age 17, when I got the Atari 2600 system for Christmas. Years later, I had the NES, then eventually a PS1, PS2, X-box, Wii. I love RPG’s, my favorite game of all time being Final Fantasy VII. I’ve played so many ~ World of Warcraft, Rift, Neverwinter, Lord of the Rings Online, Dungeons and Dragons Online, Torchlight, Diablos 1, 2, and 3, Guild Wars 1 and 2, Baldur’s Gate, Icewind Dale, Duke Nukem, Doom, Heretic, Quake, Sims, Guitar Hero, etc., etc.

19. Jewelry. I’ve always worn a ring, and wear bracelets when I go out somewhere. I have a chain with a crucifix {given to me by my mom} that I wear every day. I love old antique-y jewelry and could spend hours browsing jewelry at flea markets or vintage stores.


friendship quote image

                 I’m blessed with many.

And last but certainly not least…

20. Friends. I have been blessed with so many friendships. Some span 40’ish years. I have been so very fortunate in being able to build lasting friendships throughout my life. I have been able to forge close friendships with people I’ve never met. I’ve reconnected with friends I knew as a child and drifted from over the years while I was busy being nomadic and living in various places. I have friends scattered all over the world and live in hope that I’ll get the opportunity to travel and see them. They’re my chosen family because they’re loving, supportive, comforting, and they make me laugh even when I don’t feel like smiling. I really am blessed. ❤

18 thoughts on “Writing 101, Day 2: Write a List

    • Hi, Laura!

      Thanks for dropping by to read and comment. It’s lovely to “meet” you.

      In case you were wondering, my favorite pen, I plan to add a link to my post. 🙂

      Hope you continue to read me. I will follow your blog.

      {Hugs}

      Like

    • Hi, Marquessa!

      Thank you so much for dropping by and taking the time to comment.

      It’s nice to hear from someone who appreciates P.J.’s as much as I do. I try my best to support the local businesses as much as I can and I just love my local P.J.’s. It’s very cozy and just the right atmosphere for the writing to flow. The delicious coffee they make is a bonus!

      You’ll have to let me know if you ever make it down here again. It would be nice to meet and chat there. 🙂

      I’ll follow your blog, too {thanks, btw!}. Please keep in touch! I’ll do the same.

      {Hugs}

      Liked by 1 person

    • Not to mention it being an excuse to eat cake! {grin}

      I’ll be 51 in December, so I’m not far behind you. Ideally, I would like to go away for my birthday this year. It’s been ages since I’ve had a vacation.

      Thanks so much for dropping by and taking the time to comment. I hope you’ll continue to visit. I’ll be following your blog, too, so I can read more of your posts.

      {Hugs}

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks, Carol! Always nice to ‘meet’ someone who is close in age, sometimes I feel ancient in the virtual world. I followed you back, wanna keep in contact too! By the way, I have a teenage daughter too…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aren’t the teenage years “lovely”? lol
        That’s all I’ll say because I know you understand. 😉

        It’s nice to see that you’re into games, too! Feel free to connect with me on FB, Twitter or any other social media we have in common. I look forward to finding out what other mutual interests we have!

        {Hugs}

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Sonya! And thank you for dropping by and taking the time to comment. I hope you’ll keep visiting. I’ve followed your blog and look forward to reading more of you. 🙂

      Kindest Regards,
      Carol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

