Writing 101, Day 1: I write because . . .

…it was something I enjoyed doing before I even understood why I found it enjoyable. I was only 12 when I started writing stories in notebooks. My mother was forever telling me that I had a vivid imagination; maybe I subconsciously connected the two. As I progressed through high school, the stories I wrote evolved into lengthy, involved “mini-novels”.

In my Junior year, my English Lit teacher praised an essay I wrote for my final exam, saying it was how all essays should be done. I left class that day feeling more confident, knowing that writing was what I definitely wanted to do. Back then, I wanted to write a novel and dreamed of being a published best-selling author; it was all about fame, fortune, book signings.

My writing has evolved with age and maturity, but the need to write has stuck with me throughout marriage, children, and a multitude of other experiences. In recent years, I’ve come to realize that my writing is not about achieving fame and fortune by writing best-selling novels. It’s about a much deeper, more meaningful purpose ~ helping other people by sharing relatable experiences. My four blogs may target different audiences, but my reason for having them is the same ~ to inspire, uplift, support my readers and help them overcome the situations we may have in common by writing about how I did it. Additionally, writing out my experiences is extremely therapeutic and doing so has become a necessary part of gaining closure.

In true writer form, I write as much as I can and when I’m not writing, I’m thinking about ideas for articles and various projects I want to do. After 38 years of writing, I’ve retained my original writing method and do most of my writing, armed with a pen and my notebook while sipping coffee in a café. It just seems more natural that way.

12 thoughts on “Writing 101, Day 1: I write because . . .

  1. You were smart enough to hold on to your first writings. I stupidly listened to other people who commented that it was a waste of time. Ended up destroying all my stories. Won awards in high school. So my writing couldn’t be that bad.

    I have enjoyed everything I’ve read of your work so far! Keep writing as long as you can

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Unfortunately, I don’t have any of my original writings; they were thrown out (probably by my father) when we moved house. My English Lit teacher kept the essay I wrote for the final exam so I don’t have that either. I do still have a crude copy of a novel I completed several years ago and I’m considering re-writing it for publication.

      I’m sorry to hear you lost your stories. 😦 If you won awards in high school, writing couldn’t have been a waste of time. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

      Thank you for your kind comment!

      Happy Writing 101!
      Carol

      Like

    1. I would love to go back and read my stories, too, and I wish I had a copy of that final exam essay my teacher praised. She kept it. :/

      Hope you enjoy the course!

      Kindest Regards,
      Carol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

