Three Become Five

Cali the Cat
                                               Cali

My lovely daughter has been begging me for a cat for many months now and, for a while, I successfully avoided the question…until her best friend’s cat had kittens, that is. She sent me pictures of the newborn kittens and took pictures of them every time she went to visit to support her “Let-me-bombard-mum-with-cuteness-overload-and-hope-for-the-best” campaign.

When the kittens were old enough to be away from their mother for a while, she and her friend brought them over to step the campaign up a notch. Lather, rinse, repeat.

I had a kitten when I was much younger but around the time we discovered {my allergy to cats and dogs}, the kitten got hit by a car. I never got the chance to watch my kitten grow old. I remained “petless” for many years until a colleague of my then-husband offered us a cat. Within a few hours of bringing this cat home, I became really ill and we had to give it back. In the years since, I’ve been around cats but most didn’t bother me. It made me wonder if I was allergic to random cats (always a fun thing ~ guessing which cat will be “the one” to trigger the sneezing fits and rashes!)

Minoux
                                                    Minoux

As it turns out, my doctor prescribed Claritin for a food allergy and being around the new kittens hasn’t been an issue since I’ve been taking it. So…I caved. We’re now the humans of these 2 sweet little Calico girls. They’ve already made themselves at home, falling asleep on all 3 of us.

As far as names go, we liked the name “Callie” but we wanted to shorten it to “Cali”. The other name, “Minoux” is named for the kitten I had when I was little. I always liked it because it was the name my mother chose for her.

So…final score ~ Mum – 2 {kitties}; Daughter – 2 {kitties}; Son – 2 {kitties}; Cali & Minoux – 3 {humans}

I think we all won. ♥

Paw Print

5 thoughts on “Three Become Five

  1. They’re both so adorable!! I’m sure you’ll enjoy having them around; cats are such great sources of entertainment!! (Although sometimes when you don’t want them to be..) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are sweet when they’re not scratching us to shreds! And I agree, they’re fun to watch when they’re running around after each other, play-fighting, etc. I look forward to watching them grow to adulthood and bonding with them as they age. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha I know what you mean! When my cat Nelson was a baby he’d run and jump on my back while I was putting make-up on, not fun at all! But he’s absolutely wonderful and doesn’t do that anymore, which is appreciated. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes we may underestimate the talents of kids, but they can come up with remarkable ways of subliminally campaigning and strategically outsmarting some adults. You have to be very mindful of them. lol. Kudos to your daughter; she has planned and executed an “adorable” plan.

    Respect to the cat-lovers, but as it relates to cats and kittens, I find kittens “cute”, while I generally do not appreciate cats because they are too audacious and opportunistic.

    Like

  3. I’m hoping that they’ll bond with us better, being with us since a very early age. They’ve already settled in pretty well and show signs of “cat love” (purring, grooming us, and falling asleep on us). It’s just a matter of surviving their kittenhood stage without getting too scratched up. 🙂

    You’re right about my daughter. When she wants something, she knows how to {eventually} get it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

