TV Favorites: Switched At Birth

I don’t normally write about TV shows, as a general rule, but there’s a first time for everything, I suppose!

A while back, my daughter and I were looking through Netflix for something to watch and she suggested “Switched At Birth“. We watched a few episodes together and I continued without her when she lost interest.

Initially, I thought it was a pleasant way to spend an hour’ish of my time, but as I progressed through the seasons ~ O.M.G.! ~ I couldn’t stop watching. It’s well written, the characters are engaging, and the stories really elicit emotional responses {yes, I cried during several particularly sad episodes ~ damn onion ninjas!}.

The show is about 2 teenage girls who have {surprise!} been switched at birth ~ one of the girls (Bay) grew up in a life of privilege, but a rebel of sorts. The other girl, Daphne, grew up in more humble surroundings and, as a result of meningitis, became deaf. Bay first discovers the switch when she does a school experiment and her blood type comes up different from her family’s. A further DNA test confirms that she wasn’t raised by her biological parents; the two families meet and figure out a way forward while having to learn sign language to communicate with Daphne. Everyone in both families has unique challenges and the writers of the show crafted believable story lines that draw you in and make you care about the characters.

I must say that I have enjoyed learning more about the challenges of deaf people and watching the characters sign. It’s a very cool, beautiful way to communicate and, for me, that’s part of the show’s charm.

I have really enjoyed watching the characters ~ and their relationships! ~ evolve over 4 seasons. The show addresses important social issues that affect teens, parents, deaf, people, couples, etc. Bay shares her biological mom’s artistic ability and their creativity adds beauty to the set.

I won’t give too much more away, since I don’t want to put spoilers in this post, but I would highly recommend this show to anyone who’s looking to become engrossed in a new series. I would ask that those of you who have been watching this show to not put spoilers in the comments. If there’s something specific you’d like to discuss with me ~ but only up to Season 4, please! I’ve not started watching Season 5 yet ~ please feel free to send me a comment via the contact form.

2 thoughts on “TV Favorites: Switched At Birth

Leave a Reply

