Things I Won’t Do For Vanity’s Sake

Quote graphic.
Food for thought…

A few nights ago, I was jotting a few ideas down in my trusty notebook. Sometimes I get stuck for what to write about in a blog post so I write until something materializes; in this case, it was a list inspired by a graphic I saw on Imgfave.

I got to thinking about what women do for the sake of vanity and decided to list what I won’t do. This list is, in no way, a criticism of those who do these things; I’ve just reached an age where I feel more comfortable defining my limits. I figure anyone who doesn’t like the authentic me won’t genuinely like me because I made a few cosmetic changes to my appearance.

Without further ado, my list:

  • Plastic surgery or Botox implants. I’m going to grow old gracefully, even if it means everything on me sags. I promise to keep my wrinkles to myself and not wear bikinis or other such revealing clothing.
  • Wear uncomfortable clothing or shoes.  The days of wrestling with my jeans whilst lying on my back are safely tucked away in my memories of being a teenager. If I had to wear skinny jeans or anything that threatened to cut off my circulation, it wouldn’t happen. Same with toe-pinching shoes or high heels that would almost guarantee me falling flat on my face. Nope.
  • Starve myself. Okay. Sometimes I wait a bit too long before eating anything and I know that’s naughty. But I will never opt for a diet that consists of water and a few lettuce leaves until everything morphs into the foods I crave. Nor will I feel guilty when I eat ice cream or a couple of cookies. It happens. Sometimes ya just gotta indulge.
  • Grow long fingernails. My nails are short for a reason. I want to be able to type on my computer, text on my phone and all those other things that get a bit complicated with long nails.
  • Regularly wear lipstick or lip gloss. Apart from those special occasions when a bit of lip tint completes my makeup, I find wearing lipstick annoying. I don’t like the idea of it being on drinking glasses or accidentally smudged on clothing. I don’t like the chore of having to re-apply it when it evaporates. Lip gloss is too “gloopy”. It’s just not for me.
  • Get tan. I fully embrace my pale legs and the natural semi-tan I get on my arms from simply being out and about.
  • Wear low-cut shirts or anything else that shows too much skin. I am a modest person who believes in dressing that way only for my significant other, not the public.
  • Body piercings. I’ve had my ears done since age 9. I’m quite happy with those.
  • Be a copy cat. I won’t wear certain trending clothes just because “everyone else” is or go out and knowingly buy the same shirt that a friend has. I wear what I like, even if “it’s so last month/season/year/decade”. If I show up somewhere and find someone wearing the same thing, no biggie. But trends? They mean nothing to me.
  • Dress inappropriately for my age. Unfortunately, when we women get to a certain age, we get a bit stuck between “acceptable” fashion that looks good without being too frumpy and finding something in stores that doesn’t make us look like mutton dressed as lamb. Where’s the middle ground? Hidden in some parallel universe? That’s how it seems, right? Being 50, I don’t want anything too “blingy” or “cutesy” or “revealing”. I’d settle for something simple and comfortable that makes me feel feminine without being too provocative.
  • Being a slave to covering my greys. Highlights are one thing, every once in a while, for a lift. Going to a salon religiously to make people think I’m not turning grey? Not happening. Wouldn’t it be massively shocking to see a full head of grey hair one day if I couldn’t dye it anymore {for whatever reason}? I think it’s better to watch the gradual change and embrace it.
  • Brow waxing. Sure it cleans things up and saves a lot of time having to tweeze the damn hair. I’ll still pass since I’m not good with pain. Love me, love my natural brows.
  • Forgo shaving. Personal preference. I wouldn’t care if the rest of the female population stopped shaving their armpits. I’ll keep shaving.
  • False eyelashes. Frankly, it’s just not that important to add something to what nature intended for me. Plus, I really don’t like the idea of putting glue on my eyelids.
  • Be a Size Zero. I love it when women embrace their curves and ignore the pressure to look like the Photoshopped women in magazines. Attaining “Size Zero” can be dangerous when people resort to unhealthy measures to do so. We should be promoting healthier attitudes about our bodies, regardless of size and shape and encourage people to wear what fits without worrying about a number on a tag.

Do you have a list of things you wouldn’t do for vanity? Do you agree or disagree with some or all the things on my list? Has reading this blog post made you think about the things we do for vanity? What about the quote in the picture? Do you agree or disagree with it?

Until next time…

3 thoughts on “Things I Won’t Do For Vanity’s Sake

  1. I love this!! It’s so much better to just be happy with who you are and know what you like than to try to impress anyone else but yourself! I agree with your list, however, I will still wear shoes that are uncomfortable (not for long periods of time, mind you) and I have a few more piercings than you; but other than that I’m already doing your list! haha. Keep up the great work. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment! I think it’s important for all of us to define what our limits are, vanity-wise. Something I’ve come to realize, as I’ve gotten older, is that “natural” is easier in many aspects.

      Stay in touch! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

