Head Vs. Heart

A comment I made yesterday on this thoughtful post by one of my fellow bloggers ~ patternsofsouldevelopment ~  is the inspiration for today’s Blogging 101 assignment. Her post is about the benefits of combining left brain / right brain thinking.

My comment:

“I have just recently decided to completely embrace my love of writing and make it my career. I have been writing for a very long time and feel “in my element” when I am working on a project (or two or three or four…); the hard, reasoning “left” mind struggles between “What the hell are you DOING?” and “You should do what you love and feel passionate about and it won’t seem a bit like work.”

I have always been a firm believer in following my heart because doing so feels more authentically me. So for me, it’s not just about combining my left and right mind but also finding a comfortable balance between head and heart.”

The part in bold print is my focus for today’s post. Whether we’re talking about left / right brain thinking or head vs. heart, I know the driving force behind my decision-making. I’m creative, imaginative, spiritual, a daydreamer, subjective and I follow my heart. I do think about things in the logical sense, consider the practicalities of a situation but I think that “safe” doesn’t necessarily mean “happy”.

For example, I know people who balk at the thought of letting their guard down to get close to someone because they’re afraid of being heartbroken. Their logic makes sense ~ “If I don’t open my heart to someone, I can’t get hurt.” Perfectly true…but if one goes through life never giving themselves a chance to love or be loved, they never experience the joy and elation that comes with being “in love”. Does sparing oneself a broken heart and all the pain that goes with it guarantee happiness? No. But then there’s no balance there, either. We can’t appreciate joy without experiencing sadness.

My heart has taken plenty of knocks and I’m not saying that proudly, either {grin}. What I want to illustrate is that, despite what I’ve been through, I’m still a hopeless romantic. If I experience another dozen heart breaks in my lifetime, so be it. I trust myself enough to know that I’m strong enough to get over failed relationships and recognize the lesson(s) I need to learn from each one. What’s most important to me is knowing that my heart is still capable of loving and my head is capable of deploying the logic necessary to keep me safe, in the event that something goes wrong.

Before I end this post, I wanted to include a quote {I found not very long ago} that resonates with me.

“There’s nothing so beautifully genuine as a broken-hearted person’s love. For in giving it, they’re saying ‘Yes, I have burned to smoke and ash for the ones I have loved. I have been devoured slowly, then spat back out. and probability suggests you are likely to ruin me, too. But here, have my heart. Take it. I’d like you to.'”  ~ Beau Taplin

Feel free to comment and share your answers to the following questions:

Are you a left brain or right brain thinker? Do you follow your head or your heart? How does it affect your decisions? Do you wish to be more balanced in your ways of thinking things through?

Until next time…

6 thoughts on “Head Vs. Heart

  1. I’m one of those who are “double dominant” having 50/50 split between right and left brain. I usually use my heart first, then a quick check that it isn’t a crazy choice…then proceed. And I too would rather have a slightly battered heart than one that was protected it’s whole life and didn’t get much chance to feel.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi, Kathy!

      Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post.

      I think that, as we mature, we realize that anything worth having involves a fair amount of risk. Nobody likes looking/feeling foolish, but I don’t see it as such. Everything is potentially a learning experience and any joy I feel, even if it’s short-lived, is a good thing. 🙂

      Stay in touch! 🙂

      Kindest Regards,
      Carol

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I have crisscrossed through psychology, religion, spirituality, even neurology, and there’s one overwhelmingly common thread that imposes the conclusion: living and experiencing is always better than not; avoiding experiencing anything is only a slow death. The more exposure one gets, the richer one’s life is; the richer the life, the more the neuronal connections – good exercise against degenerative diseases of later age, to just explain it in a strict materialistic way. Only, this explanation barely scratches the deep reasons for living courageously and not always giving the upper-hand to the overpowering instinct of conservation.

    So, I fully agree, Carol, if you give your heart once more, it’ll only make you stronger, and, chances are, this time it also could make you happier.

    Liked by 2 people

    • In the short time I’ve known you, I’ve learned so much from you already. What you say makes so much sense. Thank you for your inspirational posts and comments. I hope that we can stay in touch after this course is over. You’re an amazing person.

      {Hugs}
      Carol

      Liked by 1 person

      • Carol, your words are like fuel to me and keep me going; I am extremely happy that I have finally had the courage to break my barriers and start sharing what I have been searching and studying for years. I have been through a long journey of discovering knowledge; I guess I just started a new one, of sharing whatever I know. All with your and my fellow bloggers’ help. Thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Keep sharing, my dear. I believe that when we try to lift each other up {and not tear each other down}, we contribute to making the world a better place. I just pray that it becomes more of a global movement sooner rather than later.

        {Hugs}

        Like

Leave a Reply

