A Different Twist on an Old Tradition

It all started with a Facebook post, asking if any of my friends wanted to meet for coffee and those who responded were mostly friends I’d known all through elementary and high school. We’ve been talking about a school reunion for a while now but finding a date/time to suit everyone was always a challenge. As soon as I got a general idea of a date that suited those interested, I created the event and invited my fellow classmates.

The event creator on Facebook is a useful tool. I like the simplicity of the R.S.V.P. feature; everyone gets to see who plans to attend ahead of time. Some of us hadn’t seen each other since graduation, which made the gathering even more special.

On the day of the meeting, 9 of us sat around some tables we pushed together and reminisced about the good ol’ days. It was great to update everyone on life happenings, too. What I loved most about it was that there were none of the usual pressures that everyone feels when attending their high school reunion. No planning involved since everyone bought their coffee upon arrival. By the end of the gathering, we unanimously decided to make it a monthly event.

It’s such a relaxed event that everyone has the option to drop in for a little while or stay for the duration of the gathering. Additionally, it’s not a big deal if someone can’t make it ~ there’s always the next one. At one of the more recent ones, a couple of people showed up unexpectedly, which was a nice surprise for the rest of us. One of my friends even brought all her photo albums filled with pictures from school so we could look through them. Each gathering is potentially a different mix of people, depending on who can show up; we always give enough notice so people can save the date. It’s so much better than waiting every 5 years for an “official” reunion. The July gathering promises to be the biggest group yet (12, including one of our beloved teachers!).

Do you do the traditional high school reunions every 5 years? How do you feel about attending? Does a monthly gathering seem like a better idea to you or do you think every 5 years is better?

7 thoughts on “A Different Twist on an Old Tradition

    • I agree! I like that it’s such a casual event. No entry fee, no name tags (since we came from a smallish school, we all know each other) and it’s a truly delightful way to spend an afternoon. I am BIG on nostalgia and listening to everyone’s memories takes me back to a simpler time before cell phones, the Internet, etc.

      I like being able to write about ideas like this because it might be something that others may not have considered doing for their school reunions. Everyone who attends these gatherings always tells me how much they enjoy attending. 🙂

      Thanks for taking the time to post a comment!

      Kindest Regards,
      Carol

      Like

  1. I stumbled upon your blogpost today. What a coinsidence as J just receached my BFF since the 5th grade. And we were planning to meet up with our old school mates. We were planning to have an outing during this fasting month. But no confirmed plans. And we had plans to meet up during Eid Mubarak. What I love about seasonal events such as Eid Mubarak here in Asia is that from young and old, near or far, are all invited to every home to come for a visit and chit-chat like old days. With sweets, light re-freshments or even a special feast such as buffet like style for family and friends. Perhaps this year I will look into plotting a different twist to our yearly celebrations 😀 like a photography of our school mates in our festive outfits and attire ❤ hihi.

    Would love to hear from you. Visit us toos at http://www.21stcenturysarah.com.

    Like

    • Hi and thank you so much for taking the time to comment!

      What you’re planning sounds awesome! I would love to see some photos from the event if you’re willing to share them.

      Although I’m a very traditional person, I think that little changes are much needed sometimes, especially if it makes life a bit easier for all involved.

      Please stay in touch and let me know how it goes!

      {Hugs},
      Carol

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Carol, will do. I shall try to posts some photos and will send you the links. Stay in touch 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you! I have followed your blog and look forward to reading more of your posts. 🙂

        Feel free to connect with me on any of the social media sites I’ve listed; I always love meeting new people.

        {Hugs}
        Carol

        Like

  2. Pingback: Writeful Mind Event: Feel Good Friday {1} | Writeful Mind

Leave a Reply

