Greetings

Writing a first blog post is a difficult process.

First, I painstakingly choose my theme, which involves looking through them all about a gazillion times before I finally decide on one. Then, I click on the “Add New Post” button and stare at my screen for about 20 minutes, trying to think of a title. I’m pleased to add that my title is still “Enter title here” because I put it off until after I’ve written the post, hoping that a title comes to me before I’m done.

That said, my name is Carol and I’m a mum of 2 (22 and 16). I’m originally from New Orleans and recently returned to the area after having lived away from home for a while ~ in Texas, Mississippi and the U.K. Moving back was quite an adjustment for us, but we’re glad to be back on American soil.

I’ve enjoyed writing since I was about 12 and back then, I filled a ton of notebooks with silly stories about celebrity crushes. I’m still “old-fashioned” and  still prefer writing in notebooks because I find that the words flow better that way. If you walk in a local café and find a girl writing in a notebook, amid all the people using laptops, that’s me and you should come say hello. {grin}

I’m taking this Blogging101 course because I’m always open to learning new things and improving my blogging skills. I write to help others, so getting more traffic is very important to me. I would really like to know how to expand my readership, which is something I haven’t gotten the hang of. I’m a strong advocate for the empowerment of women in abusive situations and I have a blog that contains important information about recognizing abuse, escaping safely, rebuilding after escape and healing. Connecting with women in need of support and understanding is vital to their safety.

Before I end this first post, I would like to thank WordPress for giving this course! I’m glad to be a part of it and look forward to the next assignment! 🙂

Until next time…

18 thoughts on “Greetings

  1. Picking a theme is so darn hard! There’s just soooooo many, which is awesome but not all at the same time. I am happy that there are so many free ones. Apparently there are a lot of writers on wordpress. That’s very exciting.

    Do you like certain types of notebooks to write in or do you not care as long as it is paper?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Cristina!

      Thanks for commenting!

      In answer to your question about notebooks…

      For me, there are notebooks that I use for “general” writing (and transcribing to my PC later) and then there’s my journal collection, which is a whole ‘nother thing. People who know me well know that I love pretty journals and tend to give me new ones on gift-giving occasions.

      The “general” notebooks are usually those black/white composition books we used to use in school.

      Thanks again for commenting! Nice to “meet” you! Good luck with the course!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I sometimes enjoy writing in journals, but they have to be pretty plain. I have a bunch of the pretty looking ones, and I’m always too nervous to put anything inside because the outside is too pretty.

        Liked by 1 person

    • I felt that way about pretty journals, too, but one day I sat down and decided what sort of journals they were going to be. I find it helps if I write a rough draft first and copy the finished piece into the journal itself. Having said that, I think that raw writing ~ mistakes and all ~ is what adds to the authenticity and beauty of the journal.

      If you’d like to see my collection it’s at: https://cafelifedesign.wordpress.com/2015/04/30/my-journal-collection/ ; please feel free to follow my blog there, too! 🙂

      Like

      • You’re talking to the person who has a hard time drawing and painting too in fear of making a “mistake”. I’m a perfectionist. It’s annoying, but I’m working on it. I did use one of the journals I thought was extremely beautiful, so there’s still hope for me. 😀

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Excellent first post Carol. Really like your site’s title too. I also use the good ole B&W composition books on occasion. Keep one in my car in case I ever need to pull over and write something that’s too long to put in my virtual notebook on my phone. Have fun with the course, I think it will be a blast. Marianne

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hello, Marianne!

      Thanks so much for taking the time to comment and offer your kind words.

      I always mean to bring a notebook with me wherever I go, but it doesn’t always happen. I do have an app on my phone called “Dragon” that’s voice-to-text dictation for those times when I must take note of an idea that’s buzzing in my head. It’s pretty cool and allows you to email the dictation to yourself when you’re done.

      You’re right about the course! I think what I’m enjoying most is getting to interact with other bloggers. Everyone here is so friendly.

      Keep in touch! Anyone is always welcome to connect with me on other social media sites. The list of the ones I’m on is here: http://about.me/nawlinsangel

      Kindest Regards,
      Carol

      Like

  3. Welcome, Carol I am like you, for years I used paper journals, I am ashamed to say I have about six half full ones floating around the house. It was just in the last year I decided to give blogging a try. I still keep sketch journals don’t think I will ever give up the paper when it comes to them. Look forward to seeing more of your writing. Hope you throw in some of the silly stories, life is tough a good grin can be a precious thing.

    Like

    • Hi Debbi!

      Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I’ve really enjoyed meeting other bloggers here since starting this course. Very cool!

      As mentioned in an earlier comment, I had so many pretty journals given to me as gifts by my children and recently decided what I wanted to write in each of them. Three ideas I had: 1/ One is a biographical journal, based on a detailed questionnaire I found online. I thought I would fill a journal with details of my family and my life to give back to my kiddos for their kiddos; 2/ The other is going to be filled with stories for my grandkiddos, some fiction, some not; I thought it would be nice to pass on a handwritten storybook so that my future generations know a bit about their writer “gran”; 3/ Then there’s the book of memories. I don’t write in that one every day, but when I think of something I want to share, I put it in the journal. 🙂

      Have fun with the course! 🙂

      Kindest Regards,
      Carol

      Liked by 1 person

      • I found I took pen to paper mostly when I need to work out confusing and painful times in my life. I could rant to the pages and get out the emotions rather than saying something I might regret.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I found a quote when I was looking for something else that you I thought you might enjoy – “Paper remains the standard to which digital media can only aspire.”
    ― Leah Price

    Like

Leave a Reply

