A Special Message

Sit down here. Yes, that’s right ~ sit right next to me because what I’m about to say to you is extremely important. Are you listening? Are you ready to hear what I’m about to say?

Okay.

May I? May I hold your hand? Thank you. Here goes… {deep breath}

My friend…my dear, dear friend, I’m here to tell you what a difference YOU make in my life. Yes, YOU. Where do I begin? We have so many days, weeks, months, years, decades of memories between us. You know what I mean, right? You’re recalling some of them…and you know what? The memories you’re thinking of right now may or not be the same ones I’m thinking of; the beauty is in the reason you’re thinking of those particular memories ~ because they have meaning for you, just as mine do for me. Every memory we have serves as part of our unique history as friends.

Now consider those same memories without me in them. Pretend I never existed. It’s hard to do, isn’t it? You can’t imagine those events, those conversations without me and vice versa. With different people? Perhaps, but no. We each contributed something special to those memories with our presence, our perspectives, our bond, our “friendship language”.

I know you’re struggling. I know. Given what I know about the world today, I fully understand the intensity of what goes on around us. It’s sometimes difficult to hang on to our sense of purpose amidst the chaos. How can we not question what we possibly have to contribute? I’m here to assure you that your contribution, your ultimate purpose is so very important. You’re here for a reason. We ALL are. I see what you can offer the world every time we talk. How do I know? Well, it’s simple. Everyone in the world should be blessed to have someone like you, fighting for them in their corner. Your presence in my life brightened what would have been the darkest place I’d ever visited. You held me up. You taught me that unconditional love exists in this world, despite the rare gift that it is. There’s more. I see your passion for the interests you have and your kindness toward others. As far as I’m concerned, the world needs MORE people like you.

The truth is, I wish I could remove your pain because I would in a heartbeat. I’m not here to tell you to “hang in there” and wait for things to get better; I’m here to walk the walk with you so that you don’t feel like you have to do it alone. I’m here to hold your hand and offer you comfort and understanding. Most of all, I’m here to create the sort of memories with you that serve as a reminder of just how much our friendship needs both of us to make it what it truly is.

And for that, I thank you. ♥

4 thoughts on “A Special Message

  1. Beautifully said. I love this, Carol. I hope you don’t mind if I share it with others, just as you’ve shared it with me. You are, indeed, a lovely woman.
    Lovingly ~ Niki

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, my dear lady, for your kind words. It’s always a pleasure to hear from you.

      I don’t mind you sharing this or any other posts that you feel might benefit someone you know. Helping people is why I write, so please, share away. I hope you continue to drop by; my blogs are all linked from this one, should you be interested in reading those too.

      Stay in touch. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

