My Journal Collection

Anyone who knows me knows that I love/collect/am addicted to pretty journals. Maybe it’s a writer thing, but it kinda goes with my fetish for office supplies and stationery (is this also a writer thing?!). Seriously…put me anywhere that sells journals, stationery, pens, pencils, desk organizers, pretty printer paper, arts/crafts supplies and you won’t hear a peep out of me for hours.

Since my muse is nowhere to be found, it probably means a slight delay on posting the next article. I thought it might be fun to share my current collection of journals in a post here. If any of you also have a collection of journals, please let me know that I’m not alone! I have included links to the relevant websites, if anyone wants to browse/buy. I’m certain that my collection will grow over the years but, for now, I think I have enough to keep me busy for a little while.

Happy Journal Collecting!


Journal 1

For personal, factual information, to pass on to grandchildren.

I bought this one a few years ago at a bookstore in the U.K. called “The Works“. The company who makes it is unknown (if anyone knows, please feel free to let me know, so I can give them credit). It has a ribbon bookmark and ruled pages. I have started writing about things I want my children and grandchildren to know about me.


Journal 2

For random thoughts, observations, keepsakes.

This one is from Paperchase(!!). I love all that is the magnificence of Paperchase and miss that place terribly. This journal is great because it has 2 coordinated elastic bookmarks and pocketed pages, photo sleeves and even a zipper sleeve at the back for whatever keepsakes you have that can’t be taped onto the pages. This is a miscellaneous journal for random thoughts and observations.


Journal 3

For short stories to pass on to future grandkids.

This journal was a gift from my son who knows I love collecting journals and, also, my love for Paperchase. It’s one of my favorites because it’s fairly thick and wide-ruled pages. I started writing random things in this one a while back, but I have changed my mind about the content. I want to fill it with short stories that compose as I go along, just to keep the imagination alive. I think it might be fun to pass it on to my children so they can read silly stories to their children.


Journal 4

For gratitude, things that make me smile, positive thoughts.

This lovely journal was a gift from my daughter, made by C.R. Gibson for Markings. There are floral decorations on every page and an elastic band bookmark. This is my all-positive gratitude/things that make me smile/best things that happen to me journal and the one I can always refer back to when I’m having a bad day.


Journal 5

Record of special events, goals, a scrapbook for keepsakes.

Another gift from my daughter, made by PlanAhead. This one has gray floral decorations on every page, which I sometimes trace and color in to highlight important posts. It’s sturdy enough to tape things on the pages, too. I use this one to record special events and personal goals. I also save stickers and interesting cut-outs, which are all put on the insides of both covers and I made a pocket for other keepsakes.


Journal 6

For travel purposes.

A gift from my son, a Flame Tree notebook that’s based on the artwork, The Great Wave, off Kanagawa, of Katsushika Hokusai. It has a magnetic side flap that holds the journal closed. According to the company’s website, the cover is printed on foil in five colors, embossed then foil stamped. There’s a ribbon bookmark and a handy pocket in the back for keepsakes. I plan on using this one as one of my travel journals on my trip down Route 66, which I have detailed here because I think it would be a beautiful way to chronicle certain aspects of my trip.


Journal 7

Possibly a second travel journal ~ to be determined later.

This, too, was a gift from my son. It’s available on Amazon here. The artwork is based on Vincent Van Gogh’s Starry Night Over the Rhone. The picture doesn’t do it justice; it’s truly beautiful. I think I may use this one for another aspect of my Route 66 trip, but I haven’t decided yet.

3 thoughts on “My Journal Collection

  1. I LOVE the last one. Starry Night is my favorite painting. I would totally buy that and maybe, just maybe, I could eventually convince myself to write in it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

