Proud Saints Fan

Okay, I’ve been quiet long enough.

I don’t usually jump on a debate wagon but, in this case, I’m making an exception.

Everyone is talking about the guy who took the football from the Bengals fan. And now “Saints fans” are all being painted with the same brush as the man in question. Let me clarify a few things:

1. This has nothing to do with RACE. This is about RIGHT and WRONG. The Bengals player who made the touchdown wanted a Bengals fan to have the football he was carrying when he scored. A Saints fan decided he was going to fight for the football -that wasn’t meant for him!-  and proceeded to elbow the Bengals fan to get it away from her. He was WRONG. Anyone who had done that, regardless of race, religion, age, size, sexual orientation, would have been WRONG.

2. I am a Saints fan. I cheer my team on, regardless of whether they win or lose, because they’re MY home team. However, I do NOT condone what that man did. He is not a fair representation of the people who make up the Who Dat Nation. I would not have cheered him on, had I been at that game. I know a lot of Saints fans and I think it’s safe to say that my fellow Saints fan friends would agree that he was wrong. We, the majority of Saints fans, aren’t about getting over on people. I really wish the Bengals fan had gotten the football that was meant for her and commend her for being such an understanding person.

3. There are rogue fans in every crowd, regardless of the sport being played. Again, I have a lot of friends who go to the Saints games and they all go to have a good time while cheering for the Who Dat nation and I’m sure that’s true of most people at the games. So to those who have been so quick to brand us as “thugs” or criticize us as a city, I say this: Unless you can tell me that EVERY fan of the team YOU support is a shining example of good sportsmanship, please do not be so quick to judge Saints fans.

Thank you for listening.

Leave a Reply

