Happy Mother’s Day

Dear Momma,

I knew that Mother’s Day was going to be difficult this year. It didn’t help that I felt bombarded by the advertisements and constant reminders to “show Mom how much she’s appreciated”.

Truthfully, I didn’t need a highly commercialized specific day to show you how much I appreciated you. Furthermore, I didn’t need anyone to remind me to appreciate you. There’s no true sentiment on Mother’s Day if appreciation, respect and love for our Moms isn’t evident all year-long. Those things aren’t rightly expressed in materialism or a “special” meal out “just because it’s Mother’s Day”. We’re conditioned to feel bad or less than appreciative if we DON’T participate which, to me, feels too much like conformity and the pressure to keep up with everyone else.

My appreciation for you was second nature to me. I learned, from an early age, to honor my parents and, as I grew and matured, I became more aware of why I should honor you. Motherhood is a thankless 24/7/365 role, comprised of a multitude of job-descriptions (which is probably why we’re so damned tough) and it’s certainly not for the faint-hearted. The mentality of Motherhood kicks in the moment a woman becomes a mom for the first time; I know, because it happened to me. The awareness of your reasons behind every thought, punishment, decision, feeling was instantaneous from the very moment I held my infant son. I understood and, along with that understanding, I gained a new respect for you, in many aspects.

I consider myself extremely fortunate, with regard to the closeness we shared. Your contribution to my life was worth so much more than a single day’s worth of appreciation.  And for that, I thank you.

I love you, Momma. Always.

~ Me

Leave a Reply

