Memory

Orchard Image
            Where’s YOUR happy place?

When I was only a little girl, who had just learned to read, my mom took me to the library and enrolled me in the Summer Reading Club. She had always been an avid reader and, of course, I wanted to be just like her. I would borrow almost as many books as she and, soon, my Summer Reading Club Chart filled up. My love of reading pleased my mother greatly, but what a wonderful gift she gave me!

I read such wonderful stories, which fueled my vivid imagination. I remember reading one story set in a house situated on grounds which boasted a vast orchard. I couldn’t tell you the name of the book or even what it was about. But I remember being fascinated by the orchard and fantasized about being able to run along the rows of trees, barefoot, of course. It served as my “Happy Place”, free from anything that could hurt me. I imagined being stretched out on a blanket in the grass and looking straight up, through the branches, watching them sway in the breeze.

Then I saw this picture, which perfectly represents the orchard I imagined all those years ago, and thought ~ wouldn’t it be the most awesome thing to be showered with the petals from the blossoms?

Leave a Reply

